I’m Starting 2022 With Weight Loss Surgery

The journey to the decision.

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

--

Image by gritsalak karalak via Shutterstock

Two months ago, my husband and I took a much needed mini-break to the country. It was just prior to the Omicron variant invading Australia’s shores, and restrictions on travelling to the regions of my home state of New South Wales had just lifted. We were looking forward to a change of scenery, a few nice restaurant meals and testing out our new ebikes.

Unfortunately it rained until the day we were leaving.

Nevertheless we made the most of it. Before heading home we drove to a lake with a good bike track arounds its circumference that the guidebooks said was excellent for families, which I interpreted as good for fat ladies in their late forties who haven’t ridden a bike for thirty years. All was going well until I hit a patch of mud, came off the bike and slid down the bank.

My husband was slightly ahead and didn’t hear me yell. It took everything I had to drag my too-heavy, bloodied and bruised body back up the bank. There I was, in white tights covered in blood and mud, with a suitably bruised ego.

That’s when I finally made the decision that had been percolating for a couple of years. I was truly sick of being fat, of lugging around a body that cannot keep up with my desire for the outdoors and all things adventure.

--

--

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

Writing to rescue others from the devastation of domestic abuse, and learning to live better. https://matildafairholm.medium.com/membership