Swapping Large Meals for a Big Life

Reflections on my first month following weight loss surgery

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

--

Image by Flotsam purchased from Shutterstock

A little over five weeks ago I donned a surgical gown and navigating a mix of fear and excitement, allowed a surgeon, who I trusted as much as you can, to remove 85% of my stomach.

Looking back I’m still amazed I had the courage. My stomach was not diseased or malfunctioning, it was perfectly healthy. I had it removed to help me lose weight, because everything else I had tried over the last thirty years, had eventually failed.

I managed to lose 10 kilograms in the weeks leading up to the surgery, partly through my own efforts, which was made easier by the knowledge that the surgery was coming and would help prevent the otherwise inevitable regain. I spent the final two weeks before surgery on the compulsory shake diet that is designed to eradicate some of the dangerous visceral fat that accumulates around the organs of obese people, fat that makes the surgery more difficult.

I was scared, but I was also ready. I turn 50 this year and I knew that this was a battle that I was sick of fighting alone. I needed help, and surgery is currently the best help available. I chose the sleeve gastrectomy because the surgery is less complex and and has excellent long-term results.

--

--

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

Writing to rescue others from the devastation of domestic abuse, and learning to live better. https://matildafairholm.medium.com/membership