Why I’m Having 85% of My Stomach Removed

I’m convinced life is better without excess weight.

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

--

Image by Africa Studio via Shutterstock

There, I said it. I’ll brace myself now for the backlash. We in the western world live in a precarious state where one has to consider very carefully the ramifications of being honest. I have no doubt that I will be accused of letting down the sisterhood, bowing to the patriarchy and perpetuating discrimination against those of generous proportions.

Whatever.

I just want to go hiking, without worrying that my knees will give up the ghost half way.

Let’s face it, there is nothing fun about lugging around twice as much tissue than your skeleton was designed to carry, no joy in trying to squeeze your body into a society that wasn’t designed for you and no fun going shopping when nothing fashionable fits.

It sucks really.

But where I differ from the fat positive/fat liberation crowd is that I don’t for a moment believe that society needs to expand to accommodate the consequences of my life choices. Even if it widened plane seats and policed the fashion industry (a ridiculous suggestion), it can’t change the limits that my own body places on my life.

That’s on me.

But 85% of your stomach, isn’t that a…

--

--

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

Writing to rescue others from the devastation of domestic abuse, and learning to live better. https://matildafairholm.medium.com/membership