Book Review: The Deep Blue Between by Ayesha Harruna Attah

Tragedy tore these twins apart, but can their love bring them back together?

Tayler Simon
Barrett Book Reviews
3 min readMay 19, 2022

--

Source: NetGalley

The Deep Blue Between is a YA love story that transcends space and consciousness. Twins, Hassana and Husseina, are tied to each other, until they are stolen from their families and separated from each other. The story follows the twins trying to find their way back to each other and fighting the deep blue rift between them.

So, I will let you know, I do not read a book’s synopsis nine times out of ten. I like to be completely surprised. I live for the thrill.

When I first started this audiobook, I thought it was going to be just another book about slavery. I don’t think I could have taken reading a book about slavery right now; they just take a lot out of me emotionally because of the war I feel inside between guilt, shame, pride, and disgust.

I was pleased to see that they shortly find freedom, so for most of the story, the twins are grappling with how the trajectory of their lives has been drastically altered as a result of their kidnappings and time in bondage. During their time apart, Hassana and Husseina (who becomes Victoria) come to learn what it means to become their own person, yet part of them still feels missing without each other.

“Our hands clasps each other’s with the hold of glue. Her fingers are my fingers, my fingers are hers. Ours is a grip that started in the womb, before our first separation. We have lost home before, but that didn’t break us…”

I liked the spin on this coming-of-age story. Twin identity seems complicated to me. I think there is a connection between twins that non-twins will just never understand. However, growing up around many twins, I saw that sometimes it hurt them to not have their own individual identities validated in the eyes of others.

You see this dynamic in The Deep Blue In Between. There is a point where Victoria wonders if she ever wants to find Hassana again. She has grown to like being her own person, but she realizes that she won’t be complete without Hassana.

The Deep Blue Between was the first book I read that talks about slavery and the aftermath outside of the United States context. It was fascinating to read about the lingering horrors of continuing to try to sell and enslave other humans, even on the motherland. The Deep Blue Between also gave me a glimpse of the rampant colonization and rise of white supremacy that was occurring in Africa and the diaspora in Brazil.

The Deep Blue Between had scenes full of rich color, from the ocean to people of all shades. I think seeing so much of the depth in color really made the story come alive.

One thing I didn’t like as much was that I felt like there was a lack of differentiation between the voices of Hassana and Victoria. I knew which chapter I was reading because of the different settings and characters featured at the time. When they were in their perspective, their voices felt too similar. It almost felt like the same person was going through alternate universes. Which might have been the point, but I felt like it took away from the emphasis on finding themselves and then finding each other.

Overall, this book was magical. Getting to experience the culture through food, dancing, and community was amazing. Hassana and Victoria aren’t the only ones connected. We are all connected throughout the African diaspora.

--

--

Tayler Simon
Barrett Book Reviews

Tayler Simon (she/her) is a black book nerd in search of liberation for all. She writes about all things anti-oppression. You can find her @liberationislit (IG)