The main thing today is not to be afraid to express yourself. Interview with Anna Derzhevitskaya.

Eugeny Kudrin
bartersmartplace
Published in
4 min readFeb 2, 2023

We continue our glorious tradition of interviews with the most interesting authors on our platform. Today our lovely guest is Anna Derzhevitskaya, also known as Triptopax Kabaru.

Hello Anna! Tell us a little about yourself. How did you decide to become an artist? By the way, you are cute (:

Hello, thank you very much for the compliment ^^ I have been drawing since childhood, and as I grew older, I wanted to develop this skill more and more. I can’t go a day without drawing. For me, this is also a way of conveying my emotions, and my attitude, and self-expression. It is even easier to express feelings through an illustration than through words.

Tell us what inspires you! In your work, you can feel the influence of cyberpunk motifs and anime, in my opinion.

Yes, I am very inspired by the technologies of the future, I really want to study this topic more and implement it in my work. Anime has also had a lot of influence on my creative life. In my teenage years, I watched anime quite a lot and came up with my characters, drew them, made animations… now I have an idea for a lore for a manga story, but so far I don’t have enough time to implement it. When possible, I post some sketches.

Do you like old, classic anime and manga? Ghost in the shell, for example?

I don’t like the old art, many anime studios used to do really huge eyes, triangular noses and very small mouths. But, as a fan of the anime “Naruto”, I also like their old drawing, there are a lot of funny shots there :)

What are your favorite artists/mangakas?

I really like the paintings of Aivazovsky, it causes me such incredible delight that a person made such realistic seascapes from memory.

Of contemporary artists, I hardly remember anyone, but when I meet hyperrealism, I think “wow, cool.” Many do not consider realism art and call it “copying reality without a soul”, but in my opinion it’s cool, for such copying you need an excellent eye and discipline, not everyone is ready to sit and draw all the details exactly.

From the manga: I really liked the art of Koyoharu Gotoge in the manga “Blade that cuts demons”

As far as I can tell, you have been posting your work on Instagram for a long time. How did the February-March 2022 sanctions affect your work?

In Instagram there were works made not to order. Instagram made it possible for people from abroad to see the work and collaborate. I used to have an Etsy store where I made stickers and postcards of the K-pop idol that I bought in other countries. After the events of February-March 2022, the site was closed and the possibility of cooperation with other countries too. It was a rather sad event… Now I work with people in Russia, I make illustrations to order, I draw pictures, I do painting on clothes. I do not place orders based on illustrations without the consent of the customer, as the order is developed individually.

Now there is a lot of hype around neural networks like Midjourney, which are able to create quite high-quality images. Do you think that a modern artist should be afraid of neural networks or is it just another tool?

Neural networks can be a good help for artists and another impetus for development. When technology comes forward, then over time, manual labor begins to be valued. Someone might be really important the presence of a “human” hand in the stages of drawing, as well as the creation of a picture: you can print on canvas, and for sure it will come out much cheaper than making a painting from an artist to order.

How did you hear about NFT technology?

It seems to me that only a person isolated from society does not know about NFT technology :) They talk about NFT quite a lot and often. If you are a digital artist, you should already know about NFT.

Tell us how you got to our marketplace? How did you hear about Barter Smartplace?

I was contacted on Instagram and offered to post my work on the site. I thought it was a good development opportunity and an interesting experience. I like this collaboration ^^

What would you like to see on our marketplace. How to make the life of users more convenient?

I like the design of the site, you don’t have to constantly climb and look for the right section, everything is in plain sight. So I wouldn’t add or subtract anything now

Give a couple of tips to young artists on how to succeed in the current realities?

Now the main thing is not to be afraid to express yourself. If possible — exhibit, advertise yourself, show your creativity to the whole world, cling to every opportunity that will be offered to you, do not be lazy and go for your dream :)

Use our apps:

Barter Smartplace — trade real and digital assets for cryptocurrency.

Barter Wallet Bot — use free cryptocurrency transfers in Telegram and earn 22% per annum.

Subscribe to read our publications:

Project website

VKontakte

Twitter

Blog in Russian VC

Blog in English Medium

Join our crypto community — BRTR Holders:

Telegram-chat (international)

Telegram-chat (Russian)

VKontakte-chat

Discord-chat

--

--