Brand Personality

As we are coming to an end in Marketing class, our last assignment was to identify the personalities of a brand. It was a pretty cool assignment as we can unleash our creativity into our work!

On this assignment, I chose Timberland. Timberland is known for outdoor wears, mainly focused on footwear. Here’s a short history of how the brand was born:

“The Timberland brand was birthed from a small, New England-based shoemaker, The Abington Shoe company. In 1973, Abington Shoe used an innovative molding technique to produce a waterproof, 6-inch Nubuck leather boot that could withstand harsh weather. The company called it the Timberland boot. By the late 1970s, 80% of all the products Abington Shoe sold were Timberland boots. So in 1978, the company changed its name to Timberland, according to a 1983 article from The Boston Globe.”

Source: https://www.cnbc.com/2020/12/20/how-timberland-became-billion-dollar-company.html

Why did I choose this?

The reason is… well, I really can’t think of a brand that stands out at that time in terms of uniqueness. And maybe due to COVID-19, it’s making me think of wanting to go outside. Yes, I thought of Timberland because I craved VACATIONS!

Anyway when I was a child, I often walk past stores that sells camping and hiking equipment, and every time I would see Timberland shoes, sitting there. My first impression is probably still the same as it is now… After studying brand personality in marketing class, I can genuinely describe my impressions on the brand, ruggedness’.

The boots on the shelves often gave me an outdoorsy feeling, as if I am in the wilderness, exploring the woods, walking on the rocks as small water droplets from the nearby waterfall constantly brushes against my face. The feeling of adventures. It might sound exaggerated, but this is how I picture what people who wore Timberland experiences in my head.

As a part of the assignment, I tried to put everything in my head onto the Jamboard to express my perception on Timberland’s personality. Check it out below!

I guess one day I will have to wear Timberland and go on an adventure in the wilderness! Anyone with me? I promised it will be fun! :D

--

--

Sorawit Choojirawong
BAScii Entrepreneurship and Core Business

Freshman at Bachelor of Arts and Science in Integrated (BAScii), Chulalongkorn University. I love sports ❤