First Time Being a Leader Experience!

This semester is the first semester that I got the opportunity to be a leader of marketing management team which is both very beneficial and terrifying…

Before being a leader of Team Yanin, I was a member of Team Bam and she was a great leader, so I tried to optimize a lot of traits from her. At first, I was very scared of being a leader since I did not volunteer but was chosen, so I did not prepare myself to be one.

What did I get from being a leader?

I would say working as a leader is the biggest achievement this semester from this course since I have learned a lot of things including discussion leading, evaluation, work separation, and also teamwork. I gained valuable skills not just being a leader but also as a team member who wants to get to know more about others, so I also experienced trying to make friends and being more friendly with others.

Being a leader also helps me understand the course’s content more since I need to understand the content thoroughly to be able to complete each assignment, and I also have to be able to evaluate and comment on the members’ work.

The hardest part in being a leader

Leading the team is hard, but leading a discussion when everyone is not answering is harder. When we first worked together, we don’t know much about each other, so not many members share their opinions. Other members and I tried to create a lively atmosphere by chit chatting before each meeting, and that bright up the atmosphere a lot, so other discussions are also easier.

Our Grab Marketing Strategy Research Project

Our team is working on Grab marketing strategy research and it’s very beneficial both in terms of the process and the content. Grab is a very interesting company, so studying about the reason behind the company’s success is very fun. We did not only learned a lot of contents, but we also learned how to create a well-developed essay and structured content.

Our research project is doing well, and I can’t wait to interview Grab about their marketing objectives and strategy themselves!

Lastly, being a leader helps me step out of my comfort zone. I have always been unconfident in leading a team, but in marketing class, experiencing this role myself makes me realize that it’s both challenging and fun at the same time!

--

--

Yanin Gasemsin
BAScii Entrepreneurship and Core Business

Freshman at BAScii, Chulalongkorn University. I do graphic designs and also working on a startup project!❤️