Me, Myself and I

Hi I’m Tanawat Tungsawatdamrong or you can call me James, currently studying at the School of Integrated Innovation, Chulalongkorn University. I am in the process of creating a startup with the help of the essential 21st century skills I acquired from classes in Technology and Business.2

I don’t like to write about myself because writing about oneself requires a reflection of your past, present and future which is very complex if you think about it. Who am I? A question that many struggle to answer because for a lot of people life is about searching for the things that define you. In this sense, I’m a bit of everything. I’m funny. I’m emotional. I’m happy. I’m sad. I’m anxious. So bare with me here. I come from a Thai-Chinese household and was raised on the values of hard work, grit, and determination. Life for us kids is built based on success because success will set you for a stable life. Stability equals happiness in my community. I know for some of you reading, this might give you the impression of the “tiger” parenting style. One that is deemed to be too “ tough” for any kid to bear. But you have to understand that my ancestors came from humble beginnings. As in, they starved and sacrificed their whole life in shaping a wholesome family. When you’re in that state, the only thing that you can do is to strive. Strive to provide for your family. So I was lucky to be brought up by my amazing parents who worked hard to ensure that I received the best education that they could offer. I guess this is why I never take things for granted. I put my best effort into everything I do because I know that every little step I take will lead to an outcome that is bigger than life.

Now that I’ve introduced myself, let’s talk about marketing. Marketing is a concept that is so prominent in our everyday lives. It is so fascinating for me to see that a lot goes into producing a well-structured marketing plan, all for just one product or service. I look forward to seeing how each aspect of Marketing works harmoniously in engaging consumers and shaping their behaviors.

--

--