Reflection

This semester was the second time that I was assigned to be a leader. As a team leader for both semesters, I knew I should “expect the unexpected” and prepare for whatever challenge that gets thrown at me. What excites me is the fact that even when I am a team leader, I don’t know what will be assigned. I like when our teams discuss how we should approach each case that was given to us. It’s so great to see that a meaningful conversation has been started and something amazing will come out of it. I’m pretty sure it was tough for everyone to adjust at first during the first half of the semester to an online format since it can be uncomfortable for some people, but because both my team and I knew we were on the same boat it was only a matter of time for us to connect and work harmoniously together. This term, the projects were much more vigorous especially given the short time frame to complete them so everyone in the team persevered and did our best to achieve work at high standards. I think a key to success is being able to discover each member’s strengths and weaknesses and delegate work based on that. As a leader, your job isn’t to do the work for your team members but instead, you have to encourage and guide them on the right path. Sometimes, it’s okay if you don’t know every single detail about a project and ask for help whenever necessary. This is still an ongoing learning process for everyone and requires cooperation from both sides. Each person will have a different approach and you will eventually find one that works for you. On a final note, I hope to deliver a cohesive and well-thought-out project which involves the best efforts from everyone in the team, providing a new perspective to BANPU.

--

--