The Baseball 100

Joseph Atzinger
Baseball with Joe
Published in
3 min readJan 25, 2022

--

The baseball book fans have been waiting for

Photo by author

A Masterpiece

The Baseball 100 is a must read for any baseball fan. I thought I knew a lot about the game, I now know 3x as much after reading this book. How can one man have so much information about these players?

The Baseball 100 is author Joe Posnanski’s rankings of the 100 greatest players to ever play. They include every time frame and era of baseball. He even includes many Negro League players whose stats are still a bit of a mystery to this day…but we know they were very good. You don’t have to 100% agree with his list (I didn’t), but that’s beside the point. The description of the players and their stories are phenomenal.

“Major League Baseball fans, you just won the lottery. . . Posnanski presents 880 pages of sheer baseball bliss . . . It’s a true masterwork, and his writing is so good that it’s likely to engross even those who know nothing about the sport.”
BookPage (starred review)

This is perfect praise for this book. After finishing Moneyball last year, I had myself in a baseball book drought. Where would I find my next book to feed my hunger for more baseball information? Finally, towards the end of last year, a beacon of light shined upon the bookshelves of Barnes & Noble. This huge, beautiful, blue book by Joe Posnanski sat before me. Just…

--

--