InVision<>Base: A Bittersweet Farewell

Jeremy Wight
5 min readFeb 15, 2019

--

The longer I’ve been at InVision, the more I’ve thought about what it might feel like to write this letter, and it is with both a heavy and excited heart that I share what’s next for me. For over 3.5 years, I have worked with some of the most talented folks that I have ever encountered. I have learned so much from so many current and former InVisioners; to anyone who may consider working with these folks… do it. You won’t regret it.

InVision: A grateful Goodbye

We have been able to build an amazing product and ecosystem together. People who know me know how passionate I am about building incredible products. Delivering value to users truly allows me to get out of bed excited every day. I still remember how ecstatic my team was when our iOS app got our first App Store feature. I was equally thrilled when it happened a second time. It was also pretty awesome getting to share the stage with Mike Cannon-Brookes to receive the SaaS partner of the year award for our Confluence integration. Even more memorable than these awards are the anecdotes and user interviews revealing the impact that our product was making in the everyday lives of Designers and their teams.

While I still remember all of the product and features we built together, through exciting and difficult times of explosive growth, more than any of this, what I think back on most fondly is what I was able to be a part of with my team. I am very proud of those who I have had the privilege of managing and working with as partners. To get to see so many teammates grow and rise up to challenges, earn the respect of their peers and beyond, be promoted and oversee more and more to the benefit of our users and our business has been amazing.

I have been so blessed to work with and learn from an amazing group of Engineering and Product Managers. From my Product Managers, I have learned much about how to measure the impact of products, weigh features and navigate obstacles. From my Engineering Managers, I’ve gained so much insight on how to build, release, monitor, debug, test, make performant, and manage products, I honestly can’t describe how much I’ve grown from your knowledge. You gave me an education in building software. Thank you.

Brendan, Myself, and Caitlin — An amazing EDP Trio (Engineering, Product, & Design)

From my Designers, Charles and Caitlin, I have been challenged to make better products — to not just build something functional, but to build something that functions well, and that truly addresses the pain. From my engineers, I have been pushed to be better in more ways than I can describe. Any success that I have had is directly attributable to you. Thank you.

While it is with a heavy heart that I say goodbye to my current team, it is with great excitement that I get to share my next adventure. I have accepted the role of VP of Product and Engineering with Base, a brand new startup based in Greenville, SC.

Base: An ecstatic Hello

Base: The Platform for Executive Assistants

Base is creating the platform to change the way that Executive Assistants get work done. I’m so blessed to get the opportunity to build a product for a group of users that has no software to call their own.

Much like InVision does for Designers — creating a voice, a space, a platform for them — Base is creating the platform, the space, the place for EAs, and I couldn’t be more excited.

Aside from the incredible opportunity to build a product and engineering team from the ground up, the two big things that attracted me to Base were the place and the people. Base is a startup which has its roots in Greenville, SC. Growing the tech scene in Greenville is important to me. It’s one of the reasons why I continue to be involved with our Code for America Chapter, Code for Greenville. And while I have been working full-time-remote for the past 3.5 years, I’m grateful that my new team has worked remotely before and will allow for much of the flexibility I have come to enjoy. That takes me to the next thing I’m stoked about: the people.

I am thrilled to get the opportunity to work with Paige McPheely and the High Alpha team. In my brief time getting to know Paige, I can already tell that she is intelligent, humble and driven. Paige previously co-founded a company for remote Executive Assistants, so she has a very unique insight into our users’ pain points as well as an understanding of the impact on the businesses they support by making better tools for EAs. Paige is also a big proponent of a positive company culture, balancing life, investing in Greenville, and building incredible products. With her expertise and the backing and support of the High Alpha team, I believe that together, we have the opportunity to make an incredible impact in the lives of our users, and in the businesses they support.

InVision folks know how often I declare how important our mission is. I pray that you carry it on while I cheer from the sidelines as a co-owner, as I carry forward a similar mission of improving the lives of Executive Assistants and those they support through building tools equal to the hard work that they put in every day. Carry on, the future is bright.

We’re hiring in Greenville South Carolina for Full Stack Engineers and a Product Designer. Diversity isn’t just a word to us, it’s something that we fundamentally believe in. If you’re not sure if you fit the position, in particular if you are from an underrepresented group, please apply!

--

--

Jeremy Wight

Creating incredible products that produce tremendous value. VPE @caremessage Mentor @PlatoHQ Past: Co-Founder @thebaseapp | Eng Leadership @invisionapp