What this space is for

Justin
basementbusiness
Published in
1 min readJan 16, 2019

I spend a lot of time writing, but very rarely about music — something I tend to care most about. After a few years of slipping occasional freelance stories into my otherwise busy life, I wanted to carve out a space to freely write about whatever music I want from week to week, with extra focus on songwriting. That’s what this space will be for.

At some point in the late aughts, I found myself listening to nothing but the bands and artists I loved a decade prior. I wasn’t ready to let that be my reality, so I dug in and started finding new music, and it went swimmingly for nearly a decade. For reasons I can’t quite pin down, that tailed off over the past year or so, and I hope the deliberate energy I put into this space can reroute that.

My name is Justin and I work in environmental communications and write songs/play guitar/sing in an indie band from California called The Polyorchids. Follow on Twitter. Off we go.

--

--