I was Handcuffed for Displaying MLK Quotes at MLK Memorial for MLK Day.

Matt Orfalea
Basic Income
Published in
5 min readJan 18, 2017

--

Martin Luther King Jr. is remembered as a heroic leader for racial justice. But MLK was an outspoken proponent for economic justice too. To help spread awareness of MLK’s largely unknown and unfinished campaign to eliminate poverty, I set up 3 MLK quotes on economic justice at MLK Memorial for MLK Day.

Memorial visitors were enjoying my banners until I was approached by 5 police officers threatening to arrest me if I did not move the banners. My partner and I were confused why a wreath on stands was allowed to stay but not banners displaying MLK’s own words. They refused to explain that and when I did not remove the banners as they told me, they handcuffed me, searched me for weapons, and removed the banners from the memorial. Thankfully, they later decided not to arrest me. But I’m still confused:

Why is a wreath on stands allowed to honor MLK on his day but not a banner with his own words?

If you scroll through the Youtube and Facebook comments there is a lot of hate for the cops (“stupid fascists pigs”) and also me (“stupid youtube cunt”). But anybody attacking the cops or me personally has lost sight of the real story: It is illegal in the USA to peacefully display MLK’s own words inside the MLK memorial, even with a permit, even on MLK day.

The 3 quotes removed by the police.

1. MLK’s proposed solution to poverty in his last book

“The solution to poverty is to abolish it directly by a now widely discussed measure: the guaranteed income.”

2. MLK warning us of growing inequality due to job automation

“A true revolution of values will soon look on the glaring contrast of poverty and wealth with righteous indignation. It will look at thousands of working people displaced from their jobs with reduced income as a result of automation while the profits of the employers remain intact and say ‘This is not just’.”

3. This one I found especially relevant. It sounds like he’s talking to Donald Trump!

“The time has come for America to face the inevitable choice between materialism and humanism. We must devote at least as much to our children’s education and the health of the poor as we do to the care of our automobiles and the building of beautiful impressive hotels. We must also realize that the problems of racial injustice and economic injustice cannot be solved without a radical redistribution of political and economic power.”

Quotes 2 & 3 are from MLK’s “Three Evils of Society” speech.

Inside MLK Memorial is a “no free speech” zone

Under code 36 CFR 7.96 there are “areas where demonstrations or special events are prohibited” — even with a permit. In the code these restricted areas are only specified for the White House area, the Washington Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, the Jefferson Memorial, and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Nowhere in the code does it state that MLK Memorial or other park areas are subject to restricted areas.

Outside the memorial, the police offered to uncuff me, and let me go without arrest so long as I took the MLK quotes with me and agreed not to return. I was picked up by my friend, Margaret Flowers, and we drove to the National Park Service (NPS) Headquarters in DC to see if this they would give me any leeway considering all I intended to do was display the words of Martin Luther King Jr to celebrate his national holiday.

There at NPS Headquarters a lead ranger assured me MLK Memorial is a restricted area, and gave me a map of MLK Memorial with lines running across the area where free speech is prohibited. I was told the only place free speech is allowed is the forecourt outside the massive outdoor memorial.

In other words, the memorial dedicated to Martin Luther King Jr. — a champion of free speech — is a strict “no free speech zone”. Even in this case, where I displayed nothing but King’s own words.

A park ranger argued the point, “If we let you demonstrate there, then Nazi’s could demonstrate too, and we don’t want Nazi’s demonstrating.”

Unfortunately with that logic the whole country could be turned into a “no free speech zone” to prevent Nazi demonstration — effectively ending free speech for everyone.

I understand why the law is what it is. Simply banning all demonstrations or signs is easier to control. It’s also easier to just follow orders than use mental energy to exercise moral discretion. I personally don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong or inappropriate about a banner.

Why is a wreath on stands allowed to honor MLK on his day, but not a banner with his own words? I think even all the law dogs out there can agree that’s a bit ridiculous. I’m sure Dr. King would appreciate the wreath but would prefer citizens be free to display, remember, and celebrate his own words in his own memorial.

At least on his own birthday!

Further Reading:

Martin Luther King Jr. on the record for a Guaranteed Income
Martin Luther King Jr. Warned Us of the Dangers of Job Automation
Where Do We Go From Here: Chaos or Community

Matt Orfalea makes videos on Youtube. You can also follow him here on Medium, Twitter, and Facebook. If you feel others would appreciate this post, please click the green heart below & support the author on Patreon!

--

--