How to Win a Strike (every time!)

An Actor Prepares… to fix the economy

Conrad Shaw
Basic Income
Published in
1 min readSep 21, 2023

--

I had started writing a long-winded piece (as I’m wont to do) about labor empowerment, universal basic income (UBI), and the tool I’m helping to build to radically alter the power dynamic in America in favor of the common individual and worker.

NOTE: If you’re unfamiliar with UBI, you can read pretty much anything else I’ve ever written on this platform.

I had decided that, due to my actor/writer background, the ongoing SAG-AFTRA and WGA strikes would make a poignant and personal lens through which to cover this issue.

And then I realized…

Well, shoot, this really makes more sense as a video.

So here it is, my first writing and acting gig in years, self-assigned, a monologue for your viewing pleasure.

I’m ready for my close-up.

If you find yourself sufficiently moved, please consider heading on over to the crowdfund we’re running and join the community of people building our own UBI without waiting for the government (a DIY UBI!).

Want to read more? Here’s a handy list of links to all my Medium pieces on basic income.

--

--

Conrad Shaw
Basic Income

Writer, UBI researcher (@theUBIguy), Actor, Filmmaker, Engineer