Octopus’s Garden

If Ringo wrote about #UBI

Conrad Shaw
Basic Income
1 min readJul 19, 2023

--

(to the tune of Octopus’s Garden)

I’d like to see
The different me
Who’d emerge from where he’s hiding in his cave.

And watch us all
Pursue the worthy call
To focus more on living than the grave.

With UBI
For every gal and guy
Think of all the time we’ve wasted that we’d save.

We would be so happy, you and me.
No one there to tell us what to do.

I want it too
For you and you and you
A taste of all the freedom that you crave.

Let’s get it done
For each person
To roll up on their shore just like the waves.

With UBI
For every gal and guy
To let us know it’s safer to be brave.

We could be so happy, you and me.
No one there to tell us what to do.

I’d like to be
That better me
When he walks into the light out of his cave.

Want to read more? Here’s a handy list of links to all my Medium pieces on basic income.

--

--

Conrad Shaw
Basic Income

Writer, UBI researcher (@theUBIguy), Actor, Filmmaker, Engineer