My First Week Learning with Basic Coding Challenge

Orioke Aanuoluwapo
Basic Coding Challenge
2 min readJan 23, 2018

Few weeks ago, I got a mail that I was selected for the basic coding challenge. Well, considering the fact that I had applied for other opportunities to learn coding and I was not selected, being selected for this one gave me joy, I mean I was not sent me a mail that cheered me up by telling me how wonderful my application was and how they wished me success in my future applications.

After applying to learn coding and I was not selected, I decided to start learning on my own by reading books and watching videos. At first, when I started learning on my own, I was very excited and committed but you know what happens when you are doing something alone, you start with this joy and excitement until after like one month you just become lazy maybe because there is no one to push you, no one to monitor you and there is no deadline or anything like that to make you push yourself. More so, you are kind of slow. Basic coding challenge made me serious (once again) with coding.

The first week of the challenge was a little bit stressful. Considering the fact that I am undergoing my six months industrial training and I do not get home until 6:15pm after which I have to do some things, I had to stay up late to take the lessons and work on the challenge. There was a day I did not sleep until around 2:00am just because I wanted to beat the deadline of completing the challenge. I must say, amidst the stress, I am learning new things. The mentors help in making the learning process fun.

I cannot wait to see where this challenge takes me.

Below is the link to my webpage https://aanuorioke.github.io/My_Profile_Page_with_BCC/

--

--