Why I Chose Basketball

Dylan Etzig
Basketball Posts
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2018

Basketball has always been a big part of my life, whether it be from watching or playing the game. I first started playing basketball when I was around 6 or 7, in one of the little kid 3v3 leagues. I was never very good at basketball, I just enjoyed playing the sport. I played in a league up until this year, because of an ACL injury, but every year I do it, it gets more and more fun. Last year I was on a rec team, and even though we only won one game, me and my friends all had so much fun playing with each other. This year I will be the head coach of the team, since I can’t play. I love playing the sport because it has always been a very good stress relief for me.

Another reason I love the game of basketball is because of my dad. He encouraged me to keep playing basketball and continue to watch games. We have gone to countless KU basketball games and I am very invested into the team. Another big reason is because of video games. I know so much knowledge about the NBA and College Basketball, just from playing the video games so much. As I grow up and go to pick a profession, I want it to be something with sports. I have always wanted to be an analyst for ESPN or even a color commentator for the games. I also want to go into coaching, as I know a lot about every team, player, and play they run. Although I’m not good at basketball, it is the reason I fell in love with all the sports I play today, because it taught me how to be passionate about something.

--

--