ANTONIJA RISTOVSKA, a portrait of a fashion warrior

Dani Milo
Bastet Noir
Published in
4 min readJan 18, 2017
Antonija Ristovska

There aren’t many women whose style transcends throughout the years becoming more refined somehow, polished if you will. These women are like old wine, they do not age, do not wrinkle and refuse to become irrelevant. These women are modern day warriors who inspire us here at Bastet Noir, every single day over and over again. Honestly, we don’t know how they do it. It’s like a magic trick of some sort. Their designs manage to stand the test of time, becoming immortal with a powerful stylish presence we’re so envious of. Women like these empower other women, they commend power and exude a special kind of energy.

One such woman, we have the privilege of knowing and the pleasure of working with is Antonija Ristovska, whose been in the fashion industry for more than two decades. Specializing in creating designs which are rich with embroidery and yet simple enough to be called the next classic, this woman is single handily responsible for the elegance of many Macedonian fashion ladies. Here she revels her story.

Elegant maxi dress by Antonija Ristovska

BASTET NOIR: Describe your designer style!

AR: Feminine, romantic, yet avant-garde. Designs mostly inspired by the 50’s, but there is also influence from the 20’s and 70’s. Through my designs I link traditional with contemporary, all the while cherishing women’s elegance and sophistication.

Hand-embroidered dress by Antonija Ristovska

BASTET NOIR: What inspires you?

AR: Creative passion is in constant inspirational creation. It enters the imagination world, the fantasy, the fairy tale. Women share the same characteristics. They are imaginative and with vivid imagination, and at the same time simple and with timeless beauty. This sophisticated woman is my all-time inspiration. Also nature. I love nature. I love translating nature’s magic into beautiful dresses.

Poppy floral print dresses by Antonija Ristovska

BASTET NOIR: What’s your proudest moment to date?

AR: There are a few moments that have marked milestones in my career. Some unforgettable excitement from my first fashion show, first magazine cover, first time designing for a celebrity. Unforgettable are the smiles and joy of our satisfied customers who allowed me to help them feel magnificent and irresistible in the most important milestones in their lives. But I would have to say that the proudest moment to date is when my designs were printed on silk charmeuse and organza fabric in Italy. I started this practice in 2015 and will continue to work in this direction. This gives so many more possibilities when designing from drawing to a finished product. With this the uniqueness of every dress is guaranteed, and originality is always in style.

Burgundy dress by Antonija Ristovska

BASTET NOIR: If you weren’t a fashion designer what would you be?

AR: I feel blessed that my biggest love and passion in life — to create unique designs — are part of my everyday life, and that this is a never-ending thirst. And if I didn’t do fashion design, I would still work in a field where I could express my creativity. Probably in arts, maybe a painter or interior designer.

BASTET NOIR: Things you can’t do without…

AR: I can’t do without nature and the vivid colors that inspire me, without beautiful things, good cuisine, without my friends, my family, my loved ones, people who drive me and inspire me to be better every day.

Her latest collection of bridal dresses just popped up at Bastet Noir, so if any of you ladies are looking for that perfect wedding dress, now is the time to hit this button. Promise, you won’t regret it.

If you like our blog and like to hear from us some more you can sign up here.

--

--

Dani Milo
Bastet Noir

Owner of Bastet Noir and Coffice, fashion writer and marketeer.