Converting MathML/TeX to images

…in the browser! 🙌

Scott Batary
batary
1 min readJun 14, 2019

--

During the process of writing an article on responsive typography, I found it helpful to represent some of the calculations in this article using mathematical typesetting. Medium doesn’t support that, so I used a library called MathJax.

MathJax is a JavaScript display engine for mathematics that works in all browsers. No more setup for readers. It just works.

I needed an easy way to render math and export it as an image for the article, so I created a simple static web page to do just that. You can see it live and view the source code on GitHub.

Along the way I found a couple of really helpful resources for implementing CSS Grid Layout and theming with CSS variables.

Light mode 🌞

Dark mode 🌚

--

--