Meet the Devs: Marc Polican and Nicole Dayrit, Game Engineers

Battle Racers
Battle Racers
Published in
3 min readApr 9, 2019
Marc Polican and Nicole Dayrit from Altitude Games

In our Meet the Devs series, we’ll feature interviews of the Battle Racers team — our game artists, engineers, designers, and more. Today, let’s meet two of our game engineers: Marc Polican and Nicole Dayrit.

Who we’re meeting today:

  • Marc Polican, Engineering Director — 17 years in game industry
  • Nicole Dayrit, Junior Game Engineer — 1.5 years in game industry

What do you do on the team?

Marc: I write the code to make our dreams for this game come true.

Nicole: I write code to make stuff work in Battle Racers!

What other games have you worked on?

Marc: Run Run Super V and Zodiac Pop. (Editor’s note: He’s being humble; he’s got loads of other titles ;))

Nicole: Ravelo Komiks Universe Battle

Did you play in arcades growing up? How do you remember your experiences in the arcade?

Street Fighter II (from Wikipedia)

Marc: Yes. I used to play Street Fighter II with my friends. I wasn’t very good with the joystick. It was hard to even do a Hadouken. I bought a Super NES to practice at home; I can do the moves better on a controller.

Nicole: Yes! I remember going with my dad and playing basketball with him there. We’d also play some racing and co-op shooter games. I liked being competitive with him even though I never win.

What’s your favorite game, or what game made you want to be a game developer?

Bubble Bobble Nostalgie (from GAMEPRESSURE)

Marc: I played Quake 3 Arena with my friends during college. I wasn’t very good at fragging but I got curious how 3D games like these were made. This was one of the games that made me want to write games.

Nicole: Crash Team Racing and Pokemon are my all-time favorites, but I think the game that sparked the drive within me to develop games was Bubble Bobble Nostalgie. I remember going home after school and playing that game right away. The mechanics are quite simple but there are a lot of hidden secrets that makes the game fun to play and interesting to discover over time. The levels were well-crafted and the soundtrack was very catchy.

What excites you most about Battle Racers?

Marc: I’m excited with racing with other players competitively. I can assemble the best car and tokenize it as an NFT. The more wins my cars have, the more valuable they will be.

Nicole: I really enjoy seeing how the car weapons/skills changes the whole dynamic of the game. I look forward to conceptualizing and making more of these car weapons/skills with the team!

If you were a car, which brand and model would you be and why?

Marc: Toyota Corolla. Simple, practical, and reliable.

Nicole: I would like to be the space car from The Jetsons. It has a ton of features like how it can transform into a briefcase, it can shoot lasers for easy parking, but most of all, it can fly.

Thanks for answering our questions, Marc and Nicole! Do you have a question you’d like us to answer? Join us on Discord and let us know!

Please follow us on social media for more posts like this one, and clap or share if you like this article.

Battle Racers: https://battleracers.io
Discord: https://discord.gg/gfEPSra
Telegram: https://t.me/battleracers
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/battleracersgame/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BattleRacers

Until next time!

--

--

Battle Racers
Battle Racers

An action-packed racing game where you build, race, and battle NFT cars on arcade-sized tracks.