Deciphering the the radical message of Cuban street art

Cuba through the Looking Glass

From Havana’s startling graffiti to Fusterlandia’s zany sculpture, Cuban art is full of mystery and symbolism.

Laurie McAndish King
BATW Travel Stories
10 min readJan 14, 2021

--

Fusterlandia (© Laurie McAndish King)

A long, blue pool stretches across the center of the compound. It is surrounded by tall palm trees and slippery, red-lipped fish. Looking down from his home above the water, a laughing monkey sits atop the pregnant giraffe’s back. Roosters spread their wings in the sun. Nearby, a gigantic strawberry-and-pistachio sundae with a cherry on top melts in the bright December light. There is no sound.

I move silently, glad I wore my sneakers. It’s still early, and I don’t want to disturb the residents or draw attention to myself as I climb to the third story of the compound for a better look.

Cowboys are everywhere. One wears heavy black mascara and blood-red lipstick. There is a fish where his heart should be. Another cowboy rides off on a dragon, his long blue cape blowing in the breeze. The mermaid in his arms does not look happy to be there; I think perhaps he is kidnapping her. A third cowboy stands, motionless, holding his bright red crutches. I skirt them all, one after another, making my way quickly to the top of the building where a huge red…

--

--

Laurie McAndish King
BATW Travel Stories

Award-winning travel writer and photographer specializing in nature and culture.