I Stayed in a Tiny House With 3 Kids. It Was Nothing Like I Expected

400 square feet for five people. What could go wrong?

Thomas Smith
Bay Area Telegraph

--

Photos courtesy the author

Whenever I watch those HGTV shows about people moving into a tiny house, my first thought is always, “That looks awful!”

I have three kids aged seven and under. We take up a lot of space. The idea of cramming them into a tiny box on wheels seems more than a little terrifying.

So when my wife and I took our kids to stay at a tiny home in Sonoma County on the Russian River at Casini Ranch campground, I had no idea what was in store.

It turned out that the experience was totally different from what I expected.

The Tiny House

Our tiny house was one of several “cottages” for rent at Casini, a popular Sonoma campground that mostly accommodates tent campers and RVers.

Technically, the house was an Athens Park Model RV. That means that-although the house was firmly anchored to the ground and looked like a miniature version of a traditional home-you could plunk it on a truck and move it anywhere in the country.

Here’s a video walkthrough that I made:

--

--