A Glimpse into Bayer’s U.S. LIFE Award Winners

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
3 min readJan 9, 2020

Bayer’s LIFE values — Leadership, Integrity, Flexibility and Efficiency — are the tenets by which Bayer and all its employees operate. Every year, employees all over the world who have shown an “above and beyond” approach to one of these four values are nominated to receive Bayer’s LIFE Award. Bayer Scapes highlights the recent U.S. LIFE Award winners.

Leadership: Brent Craig, Crop Science business, St. Louis, MO

Putting the needs of our customers comes first. As head of Bayer Crop Science Seed Growth business for North America, I led a multi-functional team that evaluated all aspects of a product to ensure that it met a need for our customers. Based on our results, I made a recommendation to the leadership team that differed from our original plans.

Leadership completely supported and validated the team’s decision. Receiving the Leadership LIFE Award as a result of this work was an affirmation of the strong collective work we did to live up to our commitment to support and value our strong customer relationships. I am humbled and proud to receive this recognition.

Integrity: Yesmean Wahdan, Pharmaceuticals business, Women’s Healthcare, Whippany, NJ

I’ve been called “customer obsessed” and I am proud of that. Connecting with customers and being viewed as a resource to them is one of the most gratifying aspects of my work. Creating partnerships with these customers, who are healthcare providers and pharmacies, lets me share information about our products that helps patients and their families.

To be recognized for integrity is truly rewarding. Our women’s healthcare teams make a difference not only for women but for their communities and for generations to come. We work together to help women and their providers make important decisions about their lives. It’s something I’m very proud of.

Flexibility: Curtis Scherder, Crop Science business, Chesterfield, MO

I love stepping out of my comfort zone to learn new things. That’s why I was excited for the challenge of contributing to a new digital strategy for one of our technologies. It gave me a great opportunity to combine my practical experience from R&D and as a systems user, learn new approaches, and deliver a digital solution to propel the business.

Winning the Flexibility LIFE Award for this work highlights for me that the concept of One Bayer, where we work as a team to help each other and the business succeed, is truly in play here.

Efficiency: Govardhan Singh, Pharmaceuticals business, Radiology, O’Hara, PA and Rydalmere, Australia

I am honored to receive the Efficiency LIFE award and I accept it on behalf of the Rydalmere cross-functional team. Ensuring we deliver good quality product at the right time at competitive costs is a team effort across the organization. Our team did an excellent job by meeting customer needs by increasing throughput within a short period of time.

I have always embraced change and believe this helps you grow and learn. When this opportunity came up, I was thrilled to raise my hand to take on the assignment. I have been very fortunate not only to learn and grow but also get to know people from more than 10 different countries who work at the site. We’ve built a strong bond.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.