A Mom’s Story: Personal and Work Life Intersect and Connect to Adoption

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
3 min readOct 12, 2017

Nancy Golden, West Regional Manager, U.S. Western Hematology Business Unit, Bayer U.S

I’ve worked for Bayer for two decades in different areas of the business. It wasn’t until I joined the Biologics team in 2002 that I discovered an area that felt like a perfect fit to me. And it wasn’t until 2012 that I would realize what a perfect fit it really was both professionally and personally.

In the Hematology Business Unit, we offer products and services that make a difference for people living with hemophilia — something that’s very important to me. Hemophilia, with about 400,000 diagnoses worldwide¹ is a rare bleeding disorder where the blood lacks or is deficient in a protein to help it clot². In Hemophilia A, which occurs in 1 in 5,000 live male births in the U.S., the blood clotting factor VIII is lacking.

Over the years, I’ve learned a lot about what patients with hemophilia live with. You might not realize these patients don’t bleed faster than those without the medical condition, they bleed longer³. But it’s the bleeding you can’t see that’s their real concern; internal bleeding into knees, elbows and ankle joints is a major risk for hemophiliacs. This bleeding can cause severe swelling, which can lead to permanent joint damage⁴. Until the mid-1970s, hemophiliacs only had a few options to treat their condition. Bayer has a long history of research and development in the area of hemophilia and I have been privileged to contribute to this meaningful work.

My personal and work life intersected in 2012. Through my job, I came to learn about a serious health issue. Even fewer treatment options are available for hemophiliacs living outside of North America, Western Europe, Australia and Japan. The life expectancy of a child with hemophilia varies depending on the care they receive. In the absence of adequate treatment, many children die before reaching adulthood. Inspired by the opportunity to make a difference, I shared this information with my family and we talked about what we could do. My husband and I always wanted a large family. My husband, children and I made the decision to adopt a child with hemophilia.

Adam XueLai joined our family May 27, 2012. Adam was born in Beijing, China and had lived in the Beijing Children’s Welfare Center for about 5 years. He has severe hemophilia A. We are thankful Adam received some factor VIII infusions while living in the orphanage.

Although I was well educated about hemophilia, it’s very different to live with hemophilia 24 hours a day. As a mom, I’m always concerned about him getting hurt or who will infuse his factor when I travel for work. It’s given me a completely different perspective on the value of the work we do here at Bayer.

I’m thankful to work for an amazing company! I’m so inspired and grateful that I’m now focusing on other ways I can give back. Recently, I began to collaborate with some of my Chinese colleagues at Bayer. I am excited that my “perfect fit” job is helping me explore possible ways to extend a helping hand in China. I’m excited by the prospect of making an even bigger difference.

1,2,4 https://www.hemophilia.org/About-Us/Fast-Facts

3 https://www.wfh.org/en/page.aspx?pid=646

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.