Celebrating Inclusion: My Journey from Chennai to New Jersey

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2020

By Vinod Das, Digital Transformation & IT Consumer Health, Product & Pipeline Platform

When I started penning this article, the first question that came to me was obviously, “What am I going to write?” But thinking about it made me look back and revisit some cherished memories.

I was born in the South Indian city of Chennai, almost 8,400 miles away from New York City.

The place is famous for its unique culture, temples, music, coffee, beaches, classical dance, MRF racing, distinct food, saris, cricket and much more.

Coming from Chennai to New Jersey has been a complete flip-flop for me.

In the 10+ years that I have been in New Jersey, I have learned to adapt to the new traditions and lifestyle. I have become a fan of our beaches (Point Pleasant), scenic drives, diners, historic parks, farms, trekking, and the New Jersey Devils Ice hockey team. I also love horseback riding.

But still I value my Asian heritage roots strong in my heart. They have given me a make it happen attitude towards life.

India is the largest democracy in the world, with about 1.4 billion people which shadows diversity through its rich heritage. Perhaps, the common ground is that we are on a journey to harness the strengths of diversity which exists all around us and within Bayer which has abundant source of diverse talent.

I love my job at Bayer. Who would not be excited to work for a company like Bayer that is guided by LIFE (Leadership, Integrity, Flexibility and Efficiency) values?

What also makes Bayer special for me is the way the corporation “embraces and empowers all employees’ unique Identities”. I understand what it means when they say, “It’s ok to be different.” I am an immigrant to the US who looks different and speaks with an accent. Yet I am accepted and encouraged to always do and be my best.

Mahatma Gandhi said, “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” Being part of Bayer and the Bayer Asian Society Inclusion Alliance (BASIA) Business Resource Group has helped me to appreciate and shape my life here in America.

Volunteering for BASIA has been a great refresher to me. It has helped me to stay true to my cultural heritage and also contribute my best to the company and society.

My technical knowledge and job experience help me to perform my job duties, but it’s the core values that come from my heritage that help me to put that extra 100% in everything I do.

At this moment, the human race is dealing with an unprecedented crisis in the form of COVID-19. It is a time for us to think beyond barriers and take advantage of all the diverse perspectives, collaborate on inclusive solutions for humankind and win together.

I recently participated in a COVID-19 hackathon as part of an initiative at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Our diverse team — myself, a programmer from Chile and a physician from Saudi Arabia — developed a plan for a kit to test and track COVID-19 antibodies at home. We were very excited that our idea was selected as a top contender, and we have been offered further mentoring from Mass CONNECT to help bring our idea to reality. This serves as a perfect illustration on how diversity could play its role in promoting growth, creativity, innovation and a cultural bonding which co-exist.

Our Indian tradition teaches us to respect our elders and at the same time gives equal opportunity to young people to chime-in and express their views.

So, when my daughter and my wife got excited about the hackathon, I encouraged them to participate in their own way. They developed a website to help parents and kids who have to do both work and schoolwork from home during our enforced social distancing.

My grandma used to say, “Look for the best in any given situation, and seek solace in the belief that all will be well soon enough. Good always finds a way to emerge and beat back the unacceptable.”

Whatever the situation, I stick with a positive attitude towards life and the belief that everything will turn out for the best!

Let’s stay positive! Happy Asian Pacific American Heritage Month 2020!

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.