Day is Done, Gone the Sun: Time for a Second Volunteer Job

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2020

By Amy Miller, Sr. Manager, U.S. Internal Communications

Every night at 7 p.m. I hear a trumpet down the block playing taps. It sounds like the person playing found this trumpet while doing some quarantine-cleaning in their apartment and probably hasn’t played in many years. But it doesn’t matter, it brings a tear to my eye every time. It’s the beginning of the daily cheer for first responders in New York City, my beloved home, so hard hit by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The bustle of the usual morning traffic is replaced by women and men from the National Guard walking to work at the Javits Convention Center, now a makeshift hospital. These are strange, strange times we’re living in. It’s an emotional rollercoaster, but in my Communications role at Bayer I get to receive stories from Bayer heroes who are volunteering in their communities all over the country and the outpouring of humanity inspires me every day. When people are challenged, they rise up to help each other and some of the incredible humans I work with have done just that.

Here are three stories of Bayer employees who volunteer their time as first responders.

“As a member of the Luling, LA, site emergency response team for 27 years, 31 years as a firefighter/Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) for the Luling Volunteer Fire Department and five years as the President of the St. Charles Firemen’s Association, we have been busy lately. I have been working on getting the Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for more than 300 Firefighters, Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs) and EMRs for the St. Charles Parish Volunteer Fire Departments. With us being so close, 25 miles west of New Orleans, PPE has been hard to come by however, we have been working with what we receive. Thanks to the help of everyone, we will make it through this event. Thank you all for allowing us volunteers help our communities.” — Armond Bourque, Chief Inspector, Bayer Crop Science, Luling, LA

“What else does a nurse do when there is crisis? We run in and work as a community to care for the physical and emotional well-being of humans. I have had the opportunity to support through volunteering on a New York and Connecticut COVID hotline, sponsored by Nuvance Health. Nuvance Health is a seven hospital, two medical group, multi-disciplinary health system. I have been volunteering 12–20 hours per week based on need primarily on the weekend to allow staff that man the hotline downtime to regroup for front line work.

The purpose of the hotline is to triage patients to correct care and testing paths, and answer questions. It’s open 10 hours a day, seven days a week and was initiated to decrease the burden of phone calls and unnecessary visits to area hospitals and community care offices.

In addition, I have volunteered to be available to support the Nuvance Digital Health team that is responsible for driving optimization of current virtual care and development of hospital based care connections.

Together, we will be unified! I have so much gratitude to be working for an organization that values community and giving back!” — Kimberly Secord, RN MSN LSSGB, Oncology Nurse Educator, Prostate Cancer Franchise, Bayer Pharmaceuticals, Whippany, NJ

“I don’t usually talk about this, but I volunteer with the local fire department as a firefighter and medical first responder. After retiring from the Navy, I started working for Bayer. I moved to a small town in Wisconsin and was immediately approached about the need for first responders in the area. I went to school and became certified and have been working on my off hours mainly on the ambulance, but also as a firefighter.

Things have changed since the beginning of the COVID-19 outbreak in the way we respond to calls. We have to limit our exposure just like anybody else. We still respond to calls but only a maximum of three people on the ambulance and one person alone must be the initial contact with the patient. We must have masks and face shields, gloves and protective coveralls. For this area where the patients are used to seeing us sometimes in jeans and t-shirts, this is a big change for them.” — John Stickles, Field Service Engineer, Bayer Radiology, Indianola, PA

I’ll be honest, some days I need a pick-me-up. I think we all do. And, there’s never a shortage of stories in my inbox to keep me going and make me smile quietly and proudly to myself. I look forward to sharing more with you. Stay well.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.