Giving Back

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2021

By, Donna Wilke RN, MSN, Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner, Women’s Healthcare, Medical Science Liaison

A light at the end of a very long and challenging tunnel appeared with the first COVID-19 vaccines. Getting to the end of the tunnel is going to take time and resources. That’s where my experience as a clinician and desire to help is coming in handy.

Since the beginning of the pandemic, as a clinician, I have had an overwhelming need to do something — to act, to help my community and use my skills. Each time I would reach out to my local non-profit groups, friends and colleagues, I would hit a roadblock. Then I learned about a volunteer program with my County Department of Health. I jumped at the chance to volunteer at vaccination clinics to do my part and give back.

It goes without saying that our health care system in the U.S., mostly our frontline staff, is so overwhelmed, stressed, tired. These heroes and heroines are in need of some relief. So, it was really a no-brainer for me to sign up for some shifts to provide healthcare providers (HCPs) with the COVID-19 vaccine. No doubt, these shifts are long, about 10–12 hours in total, but this work is truly an honor to serve those who have been serving patients since the beginning of the pandemic nearly a year ago.

Working together and alongside folks who are committed to providing safe vaccines and unbelievably organized has been fun. Meeting and talking to fellow HCPs, hearing their professional and personal stories was really heartwarming. What really touched me was their kindness and how thankful and grateful THEY were that we were there to give them their vaccines. I had to remind every one of them that we are grateful for THEM. They are on the front lines each and every day — taking care of our families and our community.

It was and will be my honor to volunteer as much as I can in the coming months to provide the vaccine to the general population as we move into the planned phases of distribution. We certainly still have a long way to travel but that light at the end of the tunnel is getting closer.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.