House Hunters International — From the Big Apple to Berlin

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
3 min readAug 21, 2017

Scott Beeman, Global Franchise Manager, Women’s Healthcare

Last year, I had the opportunity to take on a new role within the global Bayer organization and move from my studio apartment in NYC to Berlin. When I made the decision to make the move, I immediately thought it would be fun to see if I could get on one of my favorite shows, House Hunters International. Imagine my surprise, when the HGTV network contacted me based on my inquiry to inform me that they decided to share my story on the show!

About House Hunters International

House Hunters International is a TV show on HGTV that depicts individuals or families that move from the U.S. to another country. It follows their journey while they look at three different properties (apartments or homes) in their destination country and decide on one.

About the Assignment

My assignment with Bayer occurred when a colleague of mine in the global organization took on a new role and her position needed to be filled. I decided to apply and was excited to learn I was chosen. The company was able to turn the opportunity into a Long-Term Assignment and in a few months I was on my way to Berlin along with my cat, Rydia. J The new role was in the global New Product Commercialization & Portfolio Strategy function within the Pharmaceuticals Strategic Marketing group. Originally, the contract was for a two year assignment, but I have since extended another year and will be staying in Germany for a total of three years.

Things I’ve Learned

So far I’ve had a wonderful time on my assignment in Berlin! I’ve had the opportunity to travel to amazing locations all over Europe such as Barcelona, London, Copenhagen, Rome, Vienna, Prague, and many more! It has given me the opportunity to learn about the German culture, and I even take German language lessons twice a week. This assignment has really given me a new perspective on the world along with the uniqueness of American culture. After having spent more than a year now in Berlin, I can certainly say I’m not the same person I was when I first arrived in April of last year.

Opportunity with Bayer

This has been an exciting chapter in my life so far and I have Bayer to thank for giving me such a life-changing opportunity. I have grown a great deal both personally and professionally while on this assignment and would recommend opportunities like this to anyone at Bayer, or other international companies. If you have the ambition to travel and break out of your comfort zone it can truly be a rewarding experience.

More Information about the Show

My episode airs on August 23 at 10:30 p.m. EST. Be sure to tune in and watch!

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.