Making a Difference in the Community Where I Live and Work

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2017

Chantel Mandel, Director, U.S. Pharmaceutical R&D Communications

I sometimes feel that I have the best job at Bayer. As a communicator, I am the storyteller. I help connect people and communities — inside and outside of Bayer –by telling stories of how our work has an impact and makes a difference.

In Berkeley, CA, we are fortunate to be connected to our patient community. We work closely with the local patient organization, supporting their outreach with our volunteers and philanthropy. I’m a cheerleader inside of Bayer, encouraging our employees to give their time to support the annual awareness walkathon, summer camp for young patients, and holiday party which brings the patient community together to celebrate.

It’s a joy to see the employees who return to certain events year after year, bringing their families to work alongside them. The friendships and connections made along the way with patient families are truly rewarding. We don’t know which patients are on our products, but we do know that Bayer is making an impact in their lives.

I am thankful that Bayer encourages community outreach beyond our science. Our work allows us to create better lives for the organizations and people in our backyard. In some cases this is tied to science education or patient advocacy, but sometimes it’s just about enabling a community organization to help feed, clothe or teach those in great need.

Chantel with her daughters, Carly and Allison.

Perhaps what I appreciate most is that my daughters have come to learn about the quiet and desperate needs of families in our own schools and neighborhoods because of this work. They often work with me at patient and community events, and I am quite proud of their compassion and desire to be part of how Bayer makes an impact locally.

Chantel with her daughter Allison at a community event.

I have learned from our community outreach that leadership comes in many forms — it doesn’t mean we have the biggest checkbook; rather, it’s that people know we have the biggest heart. The greatest reward in this work for me personally is the tremendous pride I feel in being part of Bayer’s impact in the communities where I live and work.

When I walk into a community meeting or patient event I’m reminded of how much Bayer’s collaboration and presence mean to our partners and to our employees. Seeing this spirit and enthusiasm drives me to do my part to make a difference every day.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.