My 4-H Story: Angela Grant

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2019

By Angela Grant, Field Sales Representative, North Iowa District

Angela standing in front of her family’s barn, cleverly named Red Barn Farms, with one of her Belted Galloway steers grazing in the background. Angela grew up on a beef cattle farm in Bargersville, IN.

Growing Up In 4-H

I grew up on my family’s beef cattle and forage production farm in the small town of Bargersville, Indiana. Many people in my community were involved in 4-H, and I first became interested in the program through my neighbor. My neighbor was a 4-H Ambassador and she came to speak to my elementary school class about the benefits of joining 4-H. She spoke so passionately about her experiences in the program and I immediately knew I wanted to join. Shortly after, my parents enrolled me in the Johnson County mini 4-H program, which is the program offered to children in kindergarten through second grade. After two years, I was old enough to join 4-H, and I spent ten wonderful years in the program. During my time in 4-H, I worked on a variety of projects. I gained experience with livestock and showing different animals including beef cattle, pigs and chickens. I also worked on photography projects, learned cake decorating and gained experience with floriculture and crops.

Memories and Life Lessons

I gained important life skills through 4-H and it helped shape me into the person I am today. Taking care of livestock year-round taught me responsibility. Each morning, it was my job to wake up and feed the animals (they ate before I even did!). I was also in charge of watering, walking and training the livestock in addition to washing, clipping and working their hair. My 4-H projects also gave me time management skills. After my first year-long project, I learned the importance of completing projects early so I wouldn’t be overwhelmed closer to the deadline.

Angela holding her Champion Silkie chicken, standing next to her caged Reserve Grand Champion “Don Juan” at the Johnson County 4-H and Agricultural Fair. “Don Juan” was a black cochin bantam rooster.

The awards I won for my 4-H projects helped me gain confidence. I will never forget winning Reserve Grand Champion Poultry with my black Cochin bantam rooster named Don Juan. I also won the Don Smock Livestock, which is only awarded to one person in the entire county! After my success in 4-H, I became involved in Future Farmers of America (FFA), and both organizations pushed me to pursue higher education in an agriculture-focused career.

My time in 4-H provided me numerous fond memories and life-long friendships. Each year I looked forward to the county fair when I could spend the entire week with my friends. The county fair also happens to be where I met my husband!

Life After 4-H

After my 4-H retirement, I continued to stay involved because my sister and brother were still in the program. My family has been directly involved with 4-H for over 20 years, and my dad is still an active volunteer for our local club. For everyone who lives in a county that offers a 4-H program, I highly encourage you to sign your children up. 4-H is so much more than just agriculture. Any child can find something they are passionate about, and have access to leadership and scholarship opportunities, group trips, and resources. I am excited that Bayer is giving back to such a positive youth organization and I am excited to see this partnership grow.

Are you a 4-H alum? Be sure to join the National 4-H Alumni Community today! You’ll receive information about the benefits of being a 4-H alum and opportunities to foster the next generation of 4-H youth leaders.

Photos:

Angela showing one of her 4-H barrows at the county fair.
Angela and her younger sister Allie holding their respective Grand Champion and Reserve Grand Champion 4-H crops posters. Both posters discussed alfalfa. Along with the posters, both entered crops as well for judging.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.