My Physical Disability Doesn’t Hold Me Back

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2018

By John Snyder, Bayer U.S. IT Organization, WorkPlace Execute

I know many people who consider their disabilities a hindrance in their everyday life. Not me, I look at my disability as a challenge. I don’t want others to look at me and feel bad. Life itself can be hard sometimes, especially in my case after my car accident. In a split second, my life changed forever.

Having to deal with changes, adapting to a different lifestyle and learning simple everyday tasks isn’t as easy as it looks when you’re in a wheelchair. Once I adapted to this new lifestyle, my disability never stopped me from finishing my studies, playing wheelchair basketball for the Pittsburgh Steelwheelers and participating in some fishing tournaments. I also wanted to share my story and positive outlook with others, which is why I’ve given numerous speeches and mentored kids with disabilities.

There are many obstacles that I face day to day but my abilities are never questioned. Often times, people wrongfully assume individuals with disabilities can’t perform and contribute as much as their peers in the workplace. I’ve never felt that way while working at Bayer. When I applied for a job at Bayer, the recruiters cared about my professional background and expertise, not my disability. Since I became part of the Bayer family, I’ve always felt accepted by my peers and I’ve always been given the same job opportunities.

Additionally, Bayer is interested in my thoughts about workplace changes or remodeling projects. Management asks because they want to ensure I’m comfortable with the changes planned in our work environment. When I’m asked to provide input, I feel great knowing my company cares about how those little details impact someone with a physical disability.

Did you know that today is Disability Mentoring Day? This is a nationwide effort to promote career development for students with disabilities through hands-on career exploration. In our Pittsburgh office, we’re hosting 30 students from Beaver County schools. As someone who has a disability, I know this is an extremely valuable experience for the participants because it reinforces that there are no limitations.

I’m proud to work for Bayer’s IT organization for the last 20 years. During my time with the company, I’ve worked on interesting projects, expanded my skill set, broadened my horizons and made new friends all around the world. My disability never once stopped me from reaching my goals. I’ve had several positions within IT and I’m currently working for the Workplace Execute Asset lifecycle management team responsible for all personal computers and mobile devices in North America.

After reading my story, I hope you’ll remember that physical disabilities don’t define who we are, nor do they hold us back. I’m grateful for the inclusive work environment at Bayer.

Learn more about Diversity and Inclusion at Bayer in the U.S.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.