Reflections on my 24 year career

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
5 min readMay 16, 2019

By Divya Annamraju, Deputy Director, Strategy, Medical Devices Product Supply, Bayer U.S.

On May 8 and 9, I attended Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association (HBA) Woman of the Year conference in New York City. Inspired, energized and uplifted are some words that describe the experience of being surrounded by highly accomplished women leaders in the life sciences industry, making a significant impact in their companies and communities. I was also humbled to be selected as one of the 2019 HBA Luminary Award recipients representing Bayer U.S.

How did I get here? What are the experiences and individuals who have influenced my thinking, and what lessons have I learned during my 24 year long career?

Stand in your truth.

I have learned success is very personal, and is best defined as the willingness and ability to engage wholeheartedly in the things that move us (both literally and figuratively).

My career in the healthcare industry has imbued me with a sense of purpose that I never imagined! Being involved in co-founding the Women’s Leadership Initiative (WLI) Business Resource Group (BRG) local chapter in Pittsburgh, starting the PA Inclusion & Diversity Council, and serving on not-for-profit boards, brought me in contact with people who give their time unconditionally, moving the world forward in small and big ways. These individuals and experiences have been instrumental in shaping me as a woman, a leader and a human being.

Business Resource Groups (BRGs) are voluntary, company sponsored groups of employees who work together to promote cultural diversity, awareness, and education and are key partners in Bayer’s efforts to cultivate an inclusive environment and to engage employees around critical Inclusion & Diversity objectives.

Embracing and celebrating a person for who they are is a sacred act of honoring the human behind their name and job title. When done with pure intention, I’ve seen firsthand an unleashing of connection, capacities and capabilities, which helps achieve things one never thought possible. It taught me the greatest act of service I can do is to help an individual and an organization discover and stand in their own truth.

Win-win is a winning strategy.

Making sound decisions requires we consider multiple inputs and broader implications. Often, the best solution is not a clear ‘this’ or ‘that’ but something in between, which often seems elusive. The times when I’ve let go of my idea of what the solution is supposed to look like and opened myself to other views have led to the best outcomes. Be willing to let go and take a chance on another person’s idea, and trust they will do the same with yours. Be humble and acknowledge you don’t have a monopoly on the best ideas.

Finally, I’ve learned different perspectives aren’t really in competition, but rather a signal that complementary views want to converge. This is an opportunity to listen, understand and build a bridge between what is mine and yours, to what will be ours to own together. It is not an act of weakness; it’s an act of faith and courage.

Keep the main thing the main thing.

Wholey’s is a famous fish market in Pittsburgh where I live; it is also well-known for the tablet at its entrance where carved in stone is the following:

· Rule №1: The customer is always right.

· Rule №2: If you think the customer is wrong, read Rule №1.

One of the earliest lessons I learned during my career at Bayer is the customer is the real boss, and by refusing to buy our products, they can fire us at any time. That was an ‘aha’ moment followed a deeper appreciation that our customers are not only patients, but also the many stakeholders involved in delivering healthcare with their own needs and expectations of companies such as Bayer. Who knew?!

Keeping the human face front and center is always the main thing — whether the customer, employee or friend. Whenever I find myself getting stuck, reconnecting to the main thing has renewed my resolve, and helped me get moving again.

Enjoy the journey.

Careers are marathons requiring endurance and enthusiasm to withstand the inevitable ups and downs, especially when attempting audacious things! The joy is in the trustful relationships with colleagues, in the impact we have together and in how much we personally grow. Yes, there are targets to achieve, money to be made and deadlines to meet, but life is short and unpredictable so always enjoy the ride.

When Sharon Standish, Pharmaceuticals R&D Planning and Operations and WLI National SteerCo lead for Strategy, Partnerships & Programs and Community Outreach Program, told me I was selected to receive the prestigious 2019 HBA Luminary Award, I wondered what I might have done to merit this recognition. She wouldn’t give me specifics and offered this instead — I should consider it an acknowledgement of everything I have contributed and everything I represent. She asked me to think instead about my legacy for the coming years. Wow.

It reminded me of an external regulatory audit at Bayer’s Indianola, PA plant a few years ago when a production employee was asked what ‘quality’ meant to him. His response: “The product I am assembling today is used on babies, so I need to make sure I get each one right.” It was his second day on the job at Bayer; he had undoubtedly learned this from his colleagues and it clicked for him. His statement still catches in my throat and as did Sharon’s advice.

For me, it has been a fantastic journey. The bar has been raised and there is much work ahead. It is time to roll up our sleeves and keep digging in!

Learn more about Inclusion and Diversity at Bayer in the U.S.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.