Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2019

--

Running My Way to Well-Being

By Kia Swan-Moore MD, MPH, Health, Safety and Environment North America Occupational Medicine and Health Lead, Bayer

At least three days a week, I start my morning with a 5 a.m. run. Often, I’m asked why. Am I training for a race? Am I trying to reach my perfect weight? It’s neither. Running is an important way that I maintain my sense of well-being. Don’t get me wrong, some of these runs are full of energy; but some are more lackluster. And while I’m doing it, I often question my sanity as I drudge up a particularly steep hill. But in the end, as I circle back toward my house, listening to the birds chirping and watching the orange glow of the rising sun, I remember why I set my alarm for such a ridiculous hour.

Yes, I am a runner. I’m not particularly fast, nor am I extremely fit. But that hour of movement in the morning is where I find my well-being. That’s because this is the time of my day where I have complete control over what I am doing and how I’m doing it. It gives me an opportunity to plan for the day or work through problems from yesterday. It is also a peaceful time and space for me to just be.

During “Employee Health and Fitness Month,” as I think about why movement is important, I want to emphasize to be active doesn’t mean you must have a goal in mind. You don’t need to be fast or look like an athlete; nor do you need to compare yourself to how you may have felt or looked 20 years ago. Instead, try to feel good about yourself and accept who you are. Consider focusing on the positive things in your life and those you care about.

I would never encourage anyone to take on running the way I have. This is my love. However, as a physician, I encourage others to find some activity that gives them a sense of well-being and fits within their life and values. It could be walking, swimming or cycling. Or, it could be gardening or playing with kids. We benefit both physically and emotionally from movement of any kind. Yes, physical activity can bring improved physical appearance, and reduced cholesterol and blood pressure. But it also can bring the joy of accomplishing a personal goal or doing something you enjoy.

In my work-life, helping others achieve their well-being goals also brings me joy. I’m fortunate to lead a team of Occupational Health professionals who share my passion. Together we help support some of the initiatives offered through Bayer’s well-being program, B Well. If your company has something similar, it can be a great place to start.

As we move into spring and summer, I encourage everyone to find some form of physical activity they like and set aside some time regularly to do it. It can be solitary, like my runs, or something you do with a friend or colleague. Or, if you are like my husband, you may need to choose an activity that requires a score! Whatever your activity, it will help you increase your resiliency, allow more focus in your day and improve your well-being.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.