Women’s History Month: “Let People Know What You Want”

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes
Published in
2 min readMar 27, 2018

Have you ever sat silently in a meeting when others suggested ideas you had long ago considered? It takes courage to speak up, but according to Libby Howe, Regional Business Manager, Field Sales, sharing your voice counts.

So many talented women I know are hesitant to speak up about what they want, whether personal or professional. Whether they’re afraid to come across as too direct, or they assume their wants or needs could be considered limitations, they hold back. I often hesitate too but I’m learning that if I don’t openly express what I want, I probably won’t get it.

Have you had advocates who helped you “find your voice?”

Before I became a Regional Business Manager, I had an open dialogue with my now manager, Adam Proud, about what I wanted professionally (to lead people) and what I wanted personally (to be present for my family). I assumed that I couldn’t have both and could never do a job that required regular travel. Adam encouraged me to be open about what I wanted and needed and as a result, I was able to do the job without sacrificing things that were very important to me personally.

What advice would you tell your younger self?

Be you. Learn from other great leaders, but don’t copy them at the expense of being the unique leader that only you can be. There’s a difference.

--

--

Bayer US
Bayer Scapes

The official profile for Bayer in the United States. Our mission ‘Science For A Better Life’ is focused on People, Plants, & Animals.