BCG Digital Ventures’ Lina Peters, Senior Engineer in Berlin

DV Faces: Lina Peters, Senior Engineer, Berlin

“What makes DV special is that every team member is motivated and wants to go places.”

--

Meet the world-class talent building the game-changing businesses of the future.

At BCG Digital Ventures, we’re shaping tomorrow one game-changing venture at a time. From ideation to testing and launch, building game-changing businesses from the ground up takes a spectrum of different skills, a variety of expertise, and, of course, a lot of collaboration.

That’s where our talent comes in. BCGDV is home to a diverse community of high-caliber talent hailing from some of the most exciting companies around the world. Each of our multidisciplinary experts brings a wealth of knowledge and career experience, along with a unique perspective to each of our builds. Together, they’re creating innovative solutions to some of the world’s biggest challenges.

Our talent makes BCG Digital Ventures what it is today. In this series, we speak to our unique talents about their exciting career journeys, their unique BCGDV experiences, and why they’re passionate about creating the businesses that are changing the world.

BCGDV: Tell us about your unique background and journey that led you to BCGDV.

A: In the last year of completing my Master’s degree, I was determined to continue down the academic path and enroll in a PhD in Computer Science and Education. During that year, however, I also participated in a BCG Platinion hackathon. I won and, shortly after, I was offered a job as a Software Engineer, working for BCG Platinion. I decided to seize the opportunity to gain some work experience and took the job offer.

In my first couple of months at BCG, I jumped right into projects across multiple industries and loved it. Even with the PhD in mind, I realized that what I wanted most was the opportunity to work across disciplines while continuing along my learning journey. My work at BCG excited me and gave me exactly what I had been craving in my professional life.

BCGDV: Why did you choose a career at Digital Ventures?

A: I love solving problems with code, but I don’t like getting lost in the technical details. I also like shaping something holistically and working in a multidisciplinary way. When I was cross-staffed on a BCG Digital Ventures venture last year, I was able to see and compare the differences in work styles across different BCG entities, including Platinion and BCGDV, firsthand. At Platinion, I was often considered a project’s “tech expert” and tended to work a lot on my own. There, my work was a lot more theory-heavy, and I often had to deliver concepts rather than products. Seeing the way the team at Digital Ventures approached building a product felt like finding the missing piece of the puzzle I’d been looking for professionally. My experience at all BCG entities has been incredible, however, Digital Ventures was where I found a work style that 100% aligned with how I want to create something.

BCGDV: Briefly describe your role and cohort at BCGDV.

A: Located in Berlin, I work as a Senior Full stack Engineer with a strong focus on the backend. The Engineering cohort in general is focused on building great and innovative products. That can but doesn’t always have to mean that we use the latest, newest, and shiniest technology. Oftentimes you can innovate a space with proven tech. I find it important that we focus on balancing simplicity, pragmatism, and emergent, innovative technology.

BCGDV: Tell us about a unique work opportunity you’ve had at BCGDV that you might not have had anywhere else.

A: I worked on an equitable ecosystem for the art market using blockchain technology. Honestly, I think DV is one of the few places in the world where I could have been given the opportunity to shape a product within the very guarded art world. It’s rare to get insight into the art market, and prior to working on this project, I knew very little about it. Working on this project also helped deepen my knowledge of Web3 technology.

BCGDV: How would you describe BCGDV’s culture? Why are you proud to be a DVer?

A: The culture at Digital Ventures (and at BCG, in general) is stellar. What makes DV special is that every team member is motivated and wants to go places. Everyone has a “can do” attitude, which works wonders if enough people in one place have it. Everyone is a team player, fun to work with, and kind, all while coming from very diverse backgrounds.

BCGDV: Tell us about a mentor or colleague at BCGDV who has influenced your career.

A: When I made the switch from Platinion to Digital Ventures, I started working on a venture right away alongside the lovely Senior Engineer Yue Chi. Even though I came to Digital Ventures from within BCG, it still very much felt like starting a brand new job, and Yue Chi made the transition process so seamless. With her kind and welcoming nature, she made it easy for me to find my place within the venture, and within DV as a whole. She also gave me great tips in terms of navigating the Engineering cohort and DV life in general.

To learn more about Engineering roles at BCG Digital Ventures, visit our Cohort page.

Interested in joining BCGDV? We’re hiring for roles similar to Lina’s across our global centers. Click here to begin your own BCGDV journey today.

Learn more about our innovation centers, including DV Berlin, here.

Want to find out more? Start the conversation with BCGDV.

Find us on Twitter @BCGDV, LinkedIn, and Instagram.

--

--

BCG Digital Ventures - Part of BCG X
BCG Digital Ventures

BCG Digital Ventures, part of BCG X, builds and scales innovative businesses with the world’s most influential companies.