My First Ah-Ha Moment

Sarah Watanabe
BCS Educator Voices
1 min readJan 19, 2016

I was fresh out of my undergraduate program in psychology when I first experienced the power of an ah-ha moment. After college, I bounced from job to job trying to find a path in life. I worked administration in a hospital, as a veterinary technician assistant, and in elderly care to name a few. But it was not until I experienced my first ah-ha moment that I really knew what and who I was going to be. This moment came when I was working as an early intervention tutor for autistic children. After two months of tutoring, the moment came that changed my life. I had been working with a 6 year old girl who had down syndrome and autism on how to feed herself with utensils when she picked up a fork, stabbed a piece of hotdog, and put it in her mouth on her own for the first time in her life. At that moment, her mother started crying, I started crying, and the girl started crying. It was then that I understood the rewards of being a teacher and found my course in life.

--

--