Photo by Darcy Lawrey

Reviving my Life

Emerson T
#BOLD
Published in
3 min readMar 20, 2024

--

These past few years have been a struggle. This does not mean my struggles overshadow others because we are all going through something. For me, these have been the hardest years and no words can describe the journey I’ve been through. From losing jobs to family deaths to sickness, then going through COVID hell and still trying to find the light at the end of the tunnel. I had to take a step back and reevaluate my life and what I want out of it.

Here are 7 ways I’m reviving my life:

It’s okay to not be okay.

If COVID has taught us anything, it is that mental health is real. No one can avoid or ignore it. An important life lesson I’ve learned is that life does not wait for me to be okay because life will keep going. There is no pause button to hit when I’m feeling down or tired. Even on my bad days I still get up and keep moving. When I keep moving, it keeps me motivated. There are no breaks in life. Nothing won’t happen if I keep stopping every five minutes.

Choosing myself and never forcing someone to choose me

It’s okay to have some “me time.” Catering to my needs and wants is putting me first. This is the art of learning how to spend time alone. If someone is looking for me then, they know how to find me. No more going out of my way to please others.

Mastering my emotions

Take one deep breath in and out. Yoga has played such a huge part in keeping me centered. With a calm mind, I can focus. A clear mind can handle any type of situation.

Avoid disappointment

I overthink everything. It leads me down a road and multiple possibilities and outcomes. Most of the time I think every outcome will result in disappointment. It took me a long time to take people for who they are and not this idea of them.

Build my own dream…

Or someone will hire me to build theirs. I have to start thinking of my aspirations and take the steps I have to be successful. If I’m not working hard for that dream then I don’t deserve it enough. I have to stop doubting myself and do what I got to do. I’m going to start creating my own opportunities and build my dream.

Do what I love…instead of what I hate

We all have been at jobs we strongly dislike, doing things that are not furthering our careers. We stay in those situations to keep collecting the paid check. This does not mean to go out there to quit your job, just start working towards the things you love.

I stopped looking at the job as a paycheck, but as a way to overcome this obstacle. I started to read more. Take on more freelance work. Attend writing workshops and join creative groups to sharpen my writing, because one day I won’t be at that job anymore and I’ll finally be able to fully commit to writing.

Getting comfortable with being uncomfortable

I started being honest with myself and accepted the truth. The biggest leap for me was going overseas last year. It was the first time I was traveling alone to meet up with a few friends in another country. I had to take an eight-hour flight and catch a cab alone. For some people, this might be a scary experience and make them anxious. Not knowing is always worrisome but I couldn’t let that hold me back. This experience taught me that I could do anything. I didn’t let the language barrier stop me from hopping on that plane. It was exciting and I finally got to see the world. I realize I have to get comfortable with the idea of being uncomfortable because it’s the only way to overcome fears.

Don’t forget to check out more stories at #BOLD!

--

--

Emerson T
#BOLD
Editor for

Writer. Addicted to fashion. Proud Pet Parent. A novice to yoga but addicted to fitness. To be continue…