The 2015 Guide on Living Your Life on Expert Hardcore Mode

Llong N
Be Expert 101
Published in
7 min readJan 8, 2015

--

(Well, you die here, you die forever, it’s Hardcore, don’t question it)

The Rant and the Guide

So, let me ask you, how long have you been wishing that you’ve done differently, or work harder, or simply did not say something extremely stupid? How many years you have been making resolutions and done none ‘till now? Welcome aboard, the living-on-easy-modes.

Be aware, this is not a guide to teach you anything, nor show off some impressive lab research that might brain-fukc you, neither to make me better by insulting you; this is a guide to give you some motivations and move your asses to do something for the new years, or your whole life. Most interesting though, this sounds exactly like some self-help scams you saw out there which charges you some hundreds dollars and make you feel even worse at the end. Nah, it’s my blog and this reading will be long, but it’s all easy words afterall.

Reading right on. But wait, it can wait, I want to talk about something else before we start. It calls “attitude”. I have been a nerd for forever, crowds scare me, noise freaks me out, people talking, being happy makes me cranky, and worst of all, I’ve been living too easy.

I changed, not sure when but I did, from a guy that so shy and never get near to anyone closer than 3 feet (1 meter, about a yard, if you prefer) to a guy that take street photography as part of my life, taking portrait with a 28mm lens, tight, and talk to people that I find interesting on the street. Ha, sounds easy, right? Getting close and personal with a stranger is the most terrifying moment of my life when I start it, of course, not hitting on nor brawling for real. But realize that some moments of my life I could not pass on but capture them with my camera. I rather hurt my inner feelings than losing a chance to do something special. It is my attitude toward the street photography. After a while, I just stop feeling afraid, and being more open when shooting, and serious while work. I guess good attitude goes a long way. Just a really small personal story but I hope you understand keep reading. Attitudes drives our feeling toward doing anything. I could have write a lengthy essay about this but I’ll pass this time but put it in my essay-to-write. I suggest an open, willing-to-be better attitude to switch your life to Expert mode. After all, if you’re not, why you bother reading medium anyway, right?

The Expert Mode starts as follow:

  • You only do one thing at once. Music is optional and not counted toward unless you want to be a singer, then work on it.
  • If you decide to work on something, personal project or a big one in your company, or simply just fixing stuff in your house, you do it, and finish it. But, you gonna lose motivation over time, key is to work hard and take a break periodically. After an hour or 90-minutes are both good starters, take a break doing ONLY one thing, remember, ONE, music, making coffee, eat, playing game, read, take your time until you feel relaxed, make out and start working again.
  • Browser of your choice. Full screen. One tab at a time. finish articles before switch back to your Facebook/Tumblr/Twitter tab. Not open more than 7 Tabs (or number of your choice, idealy less than 10) and stick to the plan.
  • Appreciation of Life: See anything/anyone you like. Tell them, don’t hesitate, you might never meet the same person again.
  • Always do one thing at a time, repeat, once at a time.
  • Screwing sleep and wake up. Sleep when you’re done with the day, and wake up when you have ample time to not late nor driving fast for the next thing in the morning. Waking up always follow by an immediate activity of your choice. Brush your teeth, Push up, Run, doesn’t matter, but need to be immediate, remember, Expert Mode.

Expert Mode also include the Challenge Expansion Pack:

READING PACK

This pack is for people long want to read more books/ read a new books but hesitate about time and self-laziness — I’m using this pack.

  • Pick a book(s) of your choice. Start it off by doing nothing until you receive a text message/ Facebook message/ Skype/ any kind of social conversation method (even carrier bill messages/warnings on your phone count). Receive one, you read a page. Simple as that. If you busy, make it a paragraph. Also, prepare to make a daily allowance of reading, suggested 20–50 pages. It’s not ideal to consume too much knowledge/ information a day, same rule for chocolate/pizza/bacon. My personal challenge set at 50 pages/day with 1 page for one message.
  • If you are in a hurry, or emergency situation. Set it a 10-page (or number of your choice) read-it-later before bed.

Why this pack is recommended? After engaging in social media conversation for years. I realize that most people don’t think much before typing down something and press Enter. It’s might be good, might be bad, but IMHO, I rather take my time to think, relax before doing so, moreover, now I also learn something before I have to reply to some non-important messages. It’s hard to fight the urge to answer messages in this fast-pace life, but I believe in your inner strength and attitude. Also, knowledge is a never a bad thing.

WRITING PACK

this pack is for people want to start writing for self-improvement/ essay/ diary/ blog. Self-explained.

  • You write with a timer. Put down half-hour timer (or longer time of your choice) then start writing. Take a 5–10 minutes break then back to write. Rinse and repeat for a long project. Rule to break as in Expert Mode, do only one thing.
  • You write with a friend(s), whenever you finish your draft, ask for improvements from a close friend/ your mentor. It does not have to be one, some is okay, too. You re-write and polish your essay, then ask for a final judgement. Repeat this challenge 2 or 3 depends on how long your writing is.
  • You write alone. You will write in full screen mode, no distraction. No browser, no text message, no contact. Concentrate on writing as your main purpuse in life for that 30-ish minute of your life. Put your phone in Silence, no vibration is ideal. Browser for reference when needed, but what about mark them down, then do references in one of your break?
  • You write for you. Make it personal, in your style. If it sucks? It will improve after friendly/professional improment seasons with your friends/mentor.
  • You write in season: Make it once, twice a week, time of your choice. Even a month at once, you still be able to end up with 2–4 good essays at the end of year.

Why this pack is recommended? Most people sucks at concentration of one thing at a time, and writing is one of the task need to be concentrated the most, and demanding.

ART PACK:

IMHO, I’m not an artist (yet) but I think the idea is pretty much the same with writing. It needs concentration and a little more time consuming, and more creativity.

  • Refer to WRITING PACK and make modifications of your choice with your creativity.

DESIGN PACK:

I consider myself a designer at heart. I hate bad design or pure function-suck. So this Pack might be offensive to some, and it IS bias. My favorite personal Pack ever.

  • You will fix stuff, Each week/ month/ bi-month/month, pick out an item of your choice that you hate the most in your house/ apartment/ on the street/ world and spend some 2-hour season working on it. Remember, some. Think, consider on its function/ appearance/ structure and work on them.
  • You will design stuff by doing personal projects, pick something that you already want and design it, function/ appearance/ structure/ electric and work on them. Timing is as in “Fix” challenge, you will work on both but not together at the same time.
  • You will put your design into your portfolio, if you don’t have one yet, work on one.

Why this pack is recommended? Well, ask yourself, designer, how many design you have work on is rather crazy stuff or for non-human user? I don’t mean to offense you, but what about doing something practical a little more? Or simply work on your “done” decent project. Fix them if you want. The possibilities are in your hands, my friends.

AND A LOT MORE EXPANSIONS THAT WAITING FOR YOU TO DISCOVER BY YOURSELF DEPENDING ON YOUR NEED.

I Just Want This World to be a Better Place. That’s what in my mind when I write this down, following the rules in WRITING PACK, last but not least, to make myself a better person. Remember that you’re born alone and die alone. Live your life like you won’t waste it. YOLO.

Q.E.D

--

--

Llong N
Be Expert 101

Soon-to-be-photographer, designer, the Phćdrus