Simplify And Be Intentional

Jesse Weedman
Be Fierce - Men's Ministry
2 min readFeb 4, 2019

By: Brandon Marler

I’ve been married for nearly 15 years. I have four kids. We pastor a small but thriving church in Northwest Independence, Missouri. I recently had to forego our salary at the church and return to work full time. Thankfully a position in a non-profit I’ve been working with for nearly four years offered me a full time position, just when I needed it. However, even having to give up my salary, the responsibilities continue.

In the midst of all the transitions, the Lord spoke very clearly two words when praying about 2019: “simplify and be intentional.” Both words have been more than I can handle at times. I’m a guy that goes 16–18 hours a day, constantly in the midst of doing something, staying busy, but the more I get into this year, into this word, into these devotions from Be Fierce, these constant day to day things are creating life ruts.

My philosophy has been, “as long as the wheels are spinning, keep trying, even if I’m digging myself deeper.” I’m learning to simplify. I’m learning to do what has to be done, and rest in His grace, knowing He’ll provide the time needed to accomplish it. I’m learning to be intentional: intentional in my prayer life; intentional in my devotional seat; intentional in my relationships with my wife, my kids, my friends.

Simplified living is grand when it’s intentional.

___________________________

Brandon is a passionate pursuer of Jesus. He and his wife, Chelle, have been married for nearly 15 years and have four kids: Gabriel, Lilly, Hannah, and Andrew. Brandon and Chelle serve as Lead Pastors at The Mount (MWBC), a small yet thriving congregation in Northwest Independence, Missouri.

--

--