How you are in your daily life will be revealed on the yoga mat.

Marloes Rademaker
Be Hyper — BSSA Crew 2
2 min readMay 10, 2016

One of my dearest friends told me this when she returned from her travels in India. We practice yoga together and she saw me struggle to ease my mind and persevere all the yoga poses.

I can do two things, sometimes three, share my thoughts while my mind is processing responses and creating new ideas simultaneously. This sounds time efficient, but it can also be quite stressfull as you are multitasking all the time. Normally, I am the one who feels the pressure of my multitasking, but I can depend on myself to succeed. I am used to this way of thinking and doing at the same time. Within a team you will not succeed on your own. You depend on the input and commitment of all team members, one will not be left behind.

During my previous project group I got aware of my fast-paced mind which got accompanied by frustration with my own impatience. Immediately I thought of myself on the yoga mat when I started practising yoga. In new sitautions I tend to take on a lot which forces me to accelerate my pace in order to get it done as fast as possible.

For extrovert people like me, I use to think and execute (e.g. writing down their ideas) at the same time. Whereas introverts use to think first, then execute, then think, then execute. Introverts need a little bit longer because their thinking process is sequential and not parallel. In order to get the maximum of an collaborative creative work, extroverts should give them this time (source:http://bit.ly/24IeRzu).

Whithin my project group I was trying to get my group member to pick up his pace and forcing a parallel thinking process upon him. I was lacking patience and eventually I got frustrated. This was an important learning experience for me personally. Creative thinking is not a one way street, every has to processes it in their own way in order to exploit their creative potential.

Fortunately, Yoga is divided is multiple styles based on its intesity and pace of poses. In my case I found a style that fits my my mind. I practise Vinyassa yoga, this is a active Yang yoga where you flow from one pose into another while following the rhythm of your breath as a focus for your mind.

Yoga will help you to develop self-awareness on a physical, mental, and emotional level. This will provide a strong foundation for self esteem that indirectly will benefit your team work.

--

--