Lead with Integrity, and You Will Lead Well

What I integrity really means for a leader and their team

Mark J Kingsfield
Be. Learn. Lead.

--

© Canva

There are multitudes of leadership trait lists available, some exhaustive, some refined. Broadly speaking, they all have merit. After 14 years as a British Army Officer, I have lead soldiers on and off operations and been both privileged and fortunate to do so. The honor of the opportunity aside, it really allowed me to refine what I consider the pre-eminent leadership trait to be. And I think I have settled on it.

Integrity.

Of course, it can not work in isolation, but without integrity, as I will explain, all other actions as a leader can and will be undermined.

No matter how skilled you are, how experienced, how well you speak, or how effectively you manage your team, without integrity you can not be a truly effective, inspirational leader.

What Do I Mean By Integrity?

Integrity can be defined in two ways, both of which are important for leadership, the first is:

“the quality of being honest and having strong principles or morals”

The second definition is:

“the state of being whole and undivided”

--

--

Mark J Kingsfield
Be. Learn. Lead.

Be indispensable, in leadership and life | 20+ years of military & business experience | Leader, Exec Coach, Speaker, Learner, Writer, Dad.