My Boyfriend Hates My Dog & That Makes Me Hate My Boyfriend

Yes — my dog isn’t perfect. But who is?

Emmy Wren
BELOVED

--

Tod. Image by Author

My dog, Tod, is a 4-year-old Shiba Inu who is…peculiar. He’s not like any other dog I’ve ever met. He doesn’t care for attention from anyone besides me. You’ll never see him begging for food or getting excited for affection. He’s anxious and scared around new people or unfamiliar sounds. And most of the time he’s just there, doing his own thing.

Tod is my 20’s dog. The day I turned 20 I saw this tiny, white puppy and I knew I had to have him. He’s been mine ever since. He is attached to my hip and he’s been with me through every new chapter of my life. He went to college with me, he’s met the multiple men who were in my life and gone, and he moved with me to live with my current boyfriend, Cody. That’s when shit hit the fan.

When I lived with my parents, my family loved Tod. He’s the kind of dog that is never really a bother. He lays around, or plays with his toys and minds his own business. When you leave him home alone, you can trust that he won’t get into any mischief. He’s a man who lives by a schedule, too. The best word to describe him is “simple”.

I think I could describe Cody in the same way. He is confident and secure in himself. He has never really been the type to overtly express his…

--

--

Emmy Wren
BELOVED

Biotech lab rat by day, writer by night. Relationship and nature enthusiast. Trying to write my way through my 20's.