My Ex-Husband Told Me This About Dating

And all I could think of was the irony

Colleen Sheehy Orme
BELOVED

--

Photo by Alberto Ramírez Sobrino: On Pexels

It’s late and I receive a text.

“I think you mean to be texting another woman,” I reply.

“Nope,” says the sender. “I know exactly who I’m texting.”

“Seriously? Have you lost your mind?” I reply.

I’m a year and a half out of my never-ending five-year divorce. It’s my ex-husband who somehow mysteriously thinks I may still be attracted to him. As if I would be interested in the type of offer he’s extending.

He’s quiet for a few months.

I receive another text.

“I’ll even make you dinner,” he says.

“Again,” I text back. “You are out of your ever-loving mind! Never gonna happen.”

He doesn’t stop there. He begins corresponding like I’m one of his buddies. He explains he’s on a dating site now and sends me a pic and information of a woman he’s communicating with.

What he says next both annoys me and leaves me in disbelief. If there could be any more shock than soliciting your ex-wife to keep you company. Especially one you bullied and wouldn’t let go for five long years.

“I’m lonely,” He says.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
BELOVED

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com