The Problem With Being “One Of The Good Ones”

Take it from someone who used to be one.

Ossiana Tepfenhart
BELOVED

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

2006.

I was the goth girl who wanted to prove to people that I was a great girlfriend and a wonderful friend. I was a doormat. I wouldn’t even admit when guys would hit me or verbally abuse me.

You see, those guys who hurt me, they had it rough. They told me so. They told me that all girls were awful to them. They had it so bad that they were sure I was going to be “just like all the others.”

Tee hee! Not me! I was going to prove to them that not all women are bad. You see, I wanted to show them that I was “one of the good ones.”

Oh, how fucking stupid I was. I really wish someone had told me the truth about the reason why being “one of the good ones” is never enough. If 2006 Ossiana sounds like you, sit down and read up. I got to tell you something.

I think almost every minority or woman has heard that phrase before, often to their “token” individual.

Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart
BELOVED

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content