5 Great Waterfalls I Visited

I soak up the beautiful views

Twinkle Moitra
Be Open
6 min readAug 2, 2022

--

Photo by Me

“Why would we chase waterfalls when there is so much to see on beaches?”, I always deny the uncountable persuasion of my husband to go to waterfalls on weekends. No matter how hard I refused, my husband still managed to make me see some of the amazing waterfalls that have caught my sight. Soon, I realized waterfalls are a treat to the eyes. All of these happened because of my city which never failed to surprise me with its scenic beauty. Ever since we came to the USA, we’ve been living in a wonderful city that is surrounded by mountains all around and the largest river that runs through the center of the city.

Here I am sharing with you some of the jaw-dropping beauties of waterfalls we got to explore.

Bald River Falls

The Bald River is the creek of the Tellico River situated in the southern district of the Cherokee National Forest. It marked the beginning of our first visit to the waterfall. I can recall the lazy day of the weekend when we really wanted to go some places. My husband discovered this beautiful waterfall which is only 1hr drive from our home. We couldn’t think more, got ready, and started off for the fall. It was really hot that day, but once we made it to our destination, we couldn’t make any complaint. Since this was my first visit and I wasn’t habituated to hiking and trekking, we didn’t go down at the base of the fall. When we stopped at the Tellico River Road for some time, the spectacular view of this fall amazed us. It’s hard to believe that the waterfall is 90 feet high. My excessive love for beaches had gradually slowed down as I stared at the force of nature.

Photo by Me

That was a really satisfying trip to remove all the boredom of everyday life. I realized waterfalls have a soothing effect on the human mind. It doesn’t matter whether this is a local trip on a weekend or a long week trip to different places, we always return from these trips with a new outlook on life.

Benton Falls

After our first visit to Bald River Falls, we wanted to discover some more waterfalls locally so that we could have a plan for every weekend. Soon, we sought out some of the greatest waterfalls and Benton Falls was the second to knock on the door. t is located in the Chilowee Recreation Area in Cherokee National Forest. Visiting this waterfall had been a completely new experience for me. It was a long trail from McCamy Lake to 65-foot-high falls. The moment I found out I had to hike to reach the falls, I stepped back for some time. But my husband’s enthusiasm immediately helped me overcome the inertia of not wanting to hike and we started to ascend. Initially, I had full energy, but believe me, trekking is hard, and I realized that as my speed started slowing down.

Photo by Me

On the halfway, we took a water break and a few more breaks after that. We had half more miles to complete. The day was bright, and so was the sun. Still, we managed to ascend while enjoying the beauty of the thick vegetation that covered the trail. Everything looked absolutely stunning against the clear sky.

After a constant half hour walking through the trails, we reached the stone stairs; we took the stairs and here we are!!!! -the 65-foot waterfall tumbled from a steep rock. I drowned my feet under the chilled water and stayed for some time wondering at the beautiful creation of nature. Capturing the picture of the waterfall, I returned home with a yearning to go back there again.

Cummins Falls

Among all the waterfalls we’ve chased so far, Cummins Falls, which is the waterfall of Blackburn Fork River in Cummins Falls State Park, draws special attention to me. Not only that this fall come in the list of largest falls in Tennessee, but it is one of the most beautiful waterfalls I’ve ever seen. The idea of exploring this waterfall occurred to me right after I heard about that from my neighbor who had already been there once.

Though it was cold as hell, we decided to venture out to see what it’s like to visit in winter. The road to the falls consisted of a 3mile trail amidst the forest which was not very tough to cover. One hurdle that came our way was the cloudy weather that made my hands freeze. Soon, the clouds gave way for the sun to shine. Yayyyy!! We got our motion back. As I was getting quite accustomed to hiking through difficult trail roads, I didn’t have to linger on the way so long. Within 45min, we were there!

Photo by Me

Obviously, the sight was breathtaking, the stream was wide, the place was less crowded, and we got to see the 75-foot stream was wide, and the place was less crowded, But that doesn’t mean the story ended well. Half of the way to the base of the fall was covered with chilled water that we couldn’t step into. Also, the rock had become slippery. Finally, we had to return keeping in mind our second visit in summer.

The chilled water. Picture Courtesy: Me
The icy surrounding

Fall Creek Falls

Photo by Me

The 256 feet high waterfall situated in Fall Creek State Park with other falls and cascades by its side is a must-watch. We went to the park twice to visit Fall Creek Falls and Cane Creek Falls, another largest falls in the park. The famous Fall Creek can be viewed from a lookout just near the parking area. We took a map of the trail as the state park consisted of so many falls and we didn’t want to be messed up with one by another. We went through the Nature Centre to get a closer look at Fall Creek Falls. I would say, the trail to Fall Creek Falls wasn’t that difficult, and we completed it in almost half an hour. Of course, I was aware of slipping and falling and because it was summer, I didn’t have to worry about the cold.

Cane Creek Falls

Photo by Me

The hike to Cane Creek Falls was super easy, at only about 0. 4mile. The fun part of this trail was a suspension bridge that we had to cross to get to the overlook of Cane Creek. Right below the swinging bridge, the water flowed like wind. It wasn’t that high, but that was enough to make me uncomfortable and thrilled at the same time. We returned from our trip with a pleasant mood and an urge to explore some more wonderful waterfalls around the city.

This has been our experience of chasing waterfalls so far. Hope you guys had fun reading it and thank you for reading it till the end.

Have you already visited these waterfalls? Please let me know how you enjoyed it.

--

--

Twinkle Moitra
Be Open

Hi there, this is Twinkle| Freelance writer| Lifestyle |Wellness| Self-improvement| Food | Feel free to explore my content. Follow me on-WordPress