Happy Birthday To Me

Sumaya Ali [Veronica Thompson-Smith]
Be Open
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2022

--

Photo Credit: Pexels-Vlada-Karpov

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME

My birthday celebration started when

I prematurely came into this world

with under-developed limbs and lungs

and the odds stacked against me

death was knocking at my door

no one knows what my future had in store.

Believing there’s no hope left

mortal men stood to watch over me

and wonder what my fate will be

and prayed that I might be given a chance to live.

Prayer changes things and life has a way

of changes in the blink of an eye

and I never had to feel or wonder what it is like

to be blessed by God’s immortal love

because He created me in his image and

breathe upon me with his spirit

the gift of life for a purpose

and I grew from strength to strength

because with Him, nothing is impossible.

Again I was faced with sickness

baffled by its origin

antibiotics and observation were given

as an experiment and possible cure

unresponsive they held little hope.

Time was crucial and a miracle was needed

and it can become frustrating

when it feels like the doctors have done

all they could do

so they conceded in defeat

but you said,

“I am your God of a second chance

and I have favored you

and will not let you go

for you are a promise.”

I have learned in my journey

of life not to measure my failures,

past regrets, sickness, successes,

or the ‘almost’ times I didn’t make it.

But only how to show gratitude for the treasure

you have bestowed on me

by keeping rewriting my pages of history.

So, today I am celebrating

that gift of life you keep on giving me

by praying for more days

just to live in a moment like this.

Where my fingers stroke the pen in my hand,

and silently on pages,

I write my thoughts

and the words that broke from my lips

in my thanks to you Lord for your gifts

and the chance that I am blessed to say

Happy birthday to me another year.

--

--

Sumaya Ali [Veronica Thompson-Smith]
Be Open

Nurse. Volunteer. Writer. Publish my works. Chocolate addict vernaann2@gmail.com Follow me@Twitter-valiqa_ali. Facebook@Sumaya Ali.Instagram.com/vernaannswine