Fiction/Drama/Young Adult

Assumptions — Senior Year — Chapter Eight

Reagan Alverez

Izzibella Beau
Be Open

--

Photo by Michael Yuan on Unsplash

High School (n) — where self-esteem, innocence, and dreams go to die (unknown)

“C’mon, Shelby, can’t you circle around and pick me up?” I pulled down the blind on my window so no passersby could look in and see me get changed. “Ash had to do something this morning, like with his dad. He’ll be running late."

I took out my skirt and shirt for the day and laid them on the bed. They were both short, cute, and would look good on me. “Tell Danielle to walk. It’s not far for her.” I twisted the shirt in a knot to show off most of my flat stomach and belly button. According to school policies, the skirt was about three inches too short, but you know what, I was the cheer and dance captain. I had to wear shit like that all the time. “Okay, whatever. See you in ten.”

I hated talking on the phone. Texting was so much easier. But most of the time, Shelby would have some reason why she didn’t get a message or text back. With her, verbal communication was always better.

I brushed out my long, midnight-black locks. My hair was so dark, it was almost a hint of blue, like a raven. I didn’t do the whole dress your face up like a clown makeup thing. I had long lashes, deep brown eyes, high cheekbones, a clear complexion, and I always had tanned skin. My dad, who is no longer with us, had a Hispanic bloodline.

More times than I wanted to count, I got stopped by people asking if I was Selena Gomez. I mean, yeah, we sorta looked alike, but even I had imperfections, unlike her.

“Shit.” Five more minutes and Shelby would be honking her horn.

I grabbed my backpack and my cheer bag and made sure to lock my bedroom door. I had the only key. It could be pick-locked, but I would know if someone entered without permission. Ahem, like my mom’s on-and-off-again boyfriend, Marlin. He was also the father to two of my good friends, Josh, who was on the football team, and Elizabeth, a year older. I’d known both of them since freshman year.

Anyway, Marlin, that was bad news. He’d been arrested a few times for selling weed by Officer West, the father of my boyfriend, Ash. I think he might be supplying my mom with drugs and he might be into dealing with heavier shit now, and my mom might sorta be involved.

Speaking of my mother, Madeline Alverez, there she was passed out on the sofa once again. The living room was a mess. I cleaned up yesterday, but since then, it looked as though Mom had a rager of a party, except it was only her. Bottles of half-drunk alcohol, plastic cups with God knows what in them, and the grilled cheese sandwiches I made for her were left uneaten.

I loved my mother to death, but she had a problem. She cherished her alcohol and occasional pills, weed, powder, or anything else to make her not feel. She’d been like that for years. I've sort of been the adult out of the two of us. I made sure there was food when we had some money, clean clothes when the electric bill was paid, and that nothing terrible happened when I had a spare minute to babysit her.

Everyone in school thought my life was so perfect. They didn’t know the actual situation I had at home. The only thing I looked forward to was cheering, dancing, and spending time with Ash, my quarterback boyfriend of the past four years. Most days, I wondered if I’d be like my mom. Would I succumb to the numbness of not living, drowning in bottle after bottle of whiskey?

“Mom.”

No response.

“Mom.” I stroked her hair, which needed washing. She looked so thin and frail. Her once-vibrant blond hair was now dry and brittle. Her complexion was blotchy. She’d lost weight, and she was someone I didn’t recognize anymore.

“I’m going to school now. First day of senior year. I’ll be home as soon as I can.” I walked toward the door. I saw Shelby’s car pull up to the curb.

I looked back. Mom’s breaths were shallow, but she was breathing. I put on my bad girl face and bitchy attitude. That was the only way to survive in this world.

“Love you.” I made sure the door was locked and went out to fight the hungry wolves, friends and foes, who were always trying to take me down at Bayshore High.

--

--

Izzibella Beau
Be Open

I write articles that will help you grow as a writer and as a person. I also write fictional stories that make you question everything about life and beyond