Be Open (More About Me) - Ifra Ali

Ifra Ali
Be Open
Published in
4 min readJun 23, 2021
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Hi readers!

My name is Ifra. It’s a Persian name that means happiness, sublimity, and adeptness.

I was born in a small town Ramnagar situated in the state of Uttarakhand. It is popularly known as Corbett city which is an attraction for people all across the world who come here to explore the Wildlife and scenic beauty of the Jim Corbett National Park.

I have two loves: books and dance and my life substantially has revolved around Shakespeare and Shakira.

I often lose myself watching sunsets, sunrises, or just sitting under a starlit sky and gazing at twinkling stars. What’s in my photo gallery? Moon! Moon! Moon! Yes, I am a selenophile too.

I’m an early riser and my day starts with gratitude and meditation followed by a ten-minute walk outside listening to the music of birds and taking long deep breaths in the fresh cold breeze.

During the onset of spring and autumn, a lot of migratory birds come around my garden and that is just a treat to watch those magnificent beauties. I’ve become so familiar with them that now I can recognize each bird by hearing its sound.

Apart from this, Yoga and workout are essential parts of my daily routine which I do in the morning and sometimes in the evenings. This is like food for the soul which helps me release stress and feel more poised and balanced in life.

I am an introvert by nature and love being around myself. I find peace in solitude, it makes me feel more productive and this is the only time when I can write.

I have come halfway through my quarter-life crisis, a period of intense soul searching. As soon as it’s over I’m certainly going to write about it.

Now coming to my writing story, English being my second language has been a subject of interest for me since childhood. I loved it as I used to score the highest marks in it. Perhaps this is the reason I opted for English Literature in my graduation.

Though I enjoyed reading stories more than anything else, I was never sure about writing.

The first story that I wrote was in 8th grade when a teacher forced me to participate in a creative writing competition. To my surprise, among 500 plus stories, my story came under the top three. I was announced to be the first runner up and somehow it became a turning point in my writing journey. But believing in my ability wasn’t easy. I still had doubts which now after so many years I have managed to overcome.

When it comes to dancing the journey has been quite thrilling. The vibes of the stage standing under the spotlight and that million-dollar worth of applause is an eternal and unexplainable experience.

This is how I have always been, passionate about getting the things I love doing.

I enjoy the company of kids as much as they do mine and I’ve turned out to be a great teacher as well.

I am not the person who plans everything in life. I rather let it unfold on its own and flow with it in whatever direction it takes me. I believe in the plans of God which are undoubtedly better than mine and whatever comes my way I accept it with a grateful heart.

I am an idealist person driven by love and not reason. I seek deeper meaningful connections in life which are not confined in the boundaries of materialism and rationality.

I picture myself skydiving and performing ballet in my 80s. For me, life is all about new audacious experiences and love.

The most important life lesson I’ve learned till this point in time is that ‘persistence and contentment’ are two crucial factors that you need to have in you.

Life has never been a smooth journey but I’ve learned to sail through it and prepared myself for the future as I still may have a long way to go. This is what life is, an experience full of learning, re-learning and growing.

I would like to conclude this story with my favorite lines from Robert Frost,

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep.”

--

--