Be Open (More About Me) — Maria Valevsky

Maria Valevsky
Be Open
Published in
5 min readAug 26, 2021

--

a hand holding a cup of coffee near lying on the table, brown glasses, notebook and a pen
Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

Each of our lives is a story.
And we all love listening to stories, don’t we?

I hope you’ll find something interesting in mine.

Who Am I?

Above anything else, I’m a human being.

There are certain roles I love to play the most in my life.
Life partner. Sister. Daughter. Aunt. Friend.
Writer. Editor. Video creator.
Traveller. Learner. Queer.
Storyteller.

Every day, I’m trying to find and explore my true self.
For the last couple of years, I’ve actually felt like I’m making progress in this regard.
However, my journey of becoming self-aware is far from over.

Facts About Me

  • Born and raised in Siberia. To nobody’s surprise, I love snow and winter.
  • Now I’m living in Slovakia. I’ve also lived in the UK and Austria for a short and very happy period of time.
  • My qualifications allow me to be a language teacher, a translator, a journalist, and a marketer.
    However, my plan “B” is to be a video editor.
    That’s the only other thing besides writing I’m passionate about.
  • The languages I know are Russian, English, French, and Slovak. I will also learn Spanish. I don’t know how and when, but I know it’ll happen.
  • My Hogwarts house is Hufflepuff.
    Yes, I’m a millennial. To be more exact, a zillennial.
  • My favourite TV Shows are “The Magicians,” “Jane the Virgin,” “Downton Abbey,” “House, M.D.,” “Miracle Workers,” “The Good Place,” “Superstore,” “3%,” “Desperate Housewives,” “Why Women Kill,” “Charmed,” “Gossip Girl” and “The Vampire Diaries.”
    Are the last two my guilty pleasures? Yes, for sure.
  • My favourite music mostly consists of individual songs. Most of the time, I choose 1–2 songs from certain artists and listen to them on repeat. However, I still have my favourite artists, such as Stromae, L.E.J, Imagine Dragons, Twenty One Pilots, Sub Urban.

Now, please, allow me to introduce you to my writing side.

a laptop, notebook and a tea cup are on the wooden table
Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

What Do I Write About and Why?

Writing Advice & Experience

Writing is the only thing that allows me to be myself. This is what brings me joy, happiness and I want to share it with the world.

I want to talk about being a writer, overcoming writer’s block, tips and tricks for writing, writing advice, best apps and software for writing, and many other things.

Talking about the craft makes me feel like a true member of a writing community. When I connect to my fellow writers, I feel like I belong and am valuable to the community. I feel understood and appreciated.

Of course, I am aware that my writing advice and experience aren’t for everyone. But if I helped at least one writer to find their motivation, groove, or inspiration. It’s worth it.

Culture

I grew up watching American TV, listening to European music, and reading books from all over the world.

Every form of artistic expression is dear to my heart. Through literature, theatre, cinema, art, and even video games, we tell stories to each other.
And with these stories, we share knowledge, feelings, and thoughts through time and space.
How is it not magic?

I’m constantly inspired by everything our minds and hands can create. Therefore, it’s hard not to submit to the urge to write about it.

TV and Media

Cinematic art has always been a huge part of my life. Since I was about 6 years old, I ran to the TV to watch “Charmed” and “Honey, I Shrunk the Kids.” Television was the first thing that introduced me to the power of storytelling.

Not many people in my family read books, so I discovered the joy of reading only as a teenager. I love literature with all my heart, but media and television have always been there for me.

I believe movies are like short stories. You spend a few hours of your life getting to know the characters and the plot. A movie can impact your feelings or thoughts, but it doesn’t demand a huge commitment from you.

TV shows are like novels or even book series. You spend weeks or even months watching them. Sometimes years. The plot consumes you, and the characters become your new best friends. This is a form of entertainment that demands time and attention. And I’m ready to give it.

Writing is my dream and passion. Television is my main interest and a favourite hobby. Of course, I want to write about it.

Mental Health

I’m not a mental health expert. When I write about mental health, my sole goal is to share my experience with others.

There might be people who are struggling with the same issues as I am.
I hope my writing can help them feel better. Writing about mental health also makes me feel better. So, I hope my readers and I are helping each other.
I put it out on paper. They read, relate, and feel understood.

There is also another reason why I write about mental health. I think mental problems were a taboo topic for too long. People are still afraid of talking about mental health disorders and issues. As a result, many people suffer as they don’t receive the help and support they need. I believe that sharing my experience might help other people understand themselves and those around them.

Now you know the four main topics I enjoy exploring with my writing. Occasionally I touch upon video games, life lessons and advice, relationships, and other themes.

I will be really happy if you decide to follow me on my writing journey. I appreciate each one of my readers and followers. You bring me joy and make my dream come true 💙

I’m currently developing my social presence as a writer. I’m creating my website, Patreon, and other things to keep me going, connect to the community and make my writing more sustainable.

If you want to support me, please consider following or engaging with:

🔹 Twitter @mariavalevsky
- supporting the writing community by reposts, comments and other means of genuine engagement
- finding new friends within the writing community
- occasional posts about my experience of being a writer

--

--

Maria Valevsky
Be Open

Writer | Exploring the Worlds of Mental Health, Culture & Media | Twitter/Instagram @mariavalevsky