Don’t Change a Thing

What Would You Tell Your Younger Self?

Kathy Crosby
Be Open

--

Photo by Zeinab Ghassemi : https://www.pexels.com/photo/anonymous-couple-walking-during-romantic-date-6989422/

My birthday is coming up. I see and hear so many articles, poems, songs, etc. regarding “What would I tell my younger self?” that I thought I could come up with some sage advice.

I searched, and I thought, and I pondered. My conclusion came down to something I’ve said to my guilt-ridden brother over and over throughout our lifetimes.

If you are happy where you are now, you shouldn’t wish to change the past.

My husband and I regularly joke about what life would be like if only we had met earlier. Different. It would have been much different. We wouldn’t have had the trials, tribulations, and joys that made us into the people who eventually fell in love. We would have had dissimilar memories, and we would be different people than we are today.

Some think of this as the butterfly effect — the idea that small, seemingly trivial events may ultimately result in a completely different path, with unknown effects on yourself and everything around you.

My childhood made me more compassionate and effusive. My adult life taught me what kind of people to surround myself with, that corporate America could care less about you, to follow your dreams, and how to be resilient in order to survive.

--

--

Kathy Crosby
Be Open

Kathy Crosby is a full time creative, vlogger, entertainer. musical educator and advocate. https://www.phoenixhousepublishing.org